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Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion (“INFO”) #3D:
Commissions and Bonuses

Overview

e The Colorado Wage Act (“Wage Act’) requires employers to pay employees the wages and other
compensation they earn. That includes bonuses and commissions that employees earn under agreements
with their employers. This INFO discusses commission and bonus agreements, including when
commissions and bonuses do and don’t have to be paid, such as when an employee leaves their job.

e This INFO doesn’t cover overtime exemption for certain commissioned salespeople, which INFO #1 covers.

When and How Commissions and Bonuses Must Be Paid, and Can’t Be Waived

e An employer must pay commissions and bonuses “earned for labor or services performed in accordance
with the terms of any agreement between an employer and employee.”" And wages must be determinable
for an employer to be required to pay them.? What do these concepts mean?

v Earned: that the employee did the work they had to do, in exchange for the promised wages.®

v In Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: that, if the parties agreed in advance that the
employer wouldn’t have to pay the wages until conditions were met, those conditions were met.

v Determinable: that the dollar amount of the wages can be calculated.*

e Employers and employees generally are free to decide the terms of commission or bonus agreements. But
employers can’t enforce invalid agreement terms, such as an agreement that employees give up their
rights, under the Colorado Wage Act, to payment of wages they’ve earned.® Understanding which terms
can be agreed on, and which are invalid and unenforceable, is key to understanding this area of the law.

e Like other wages, commissions must be paid on a regular schedule. Under the Wage Act, employers have
to pay wages for “regular pay periods” (no more than a month or 30 days, whichever is longer), and on
“‘regular paydays” (no later than 10 days after the end of each pay period). But employers and employees
may agree on an alternative period for measuring and paying commissions (for example, quarterly).®

e Employees paid entirely or partly by commission still must receive at least minimum wage for all hours
worked, except exempt employees like “outside salespersons” (who work mainly away from the employer’s
place of business, and spend at least 80% of their time on activities directly related to outside sales).” Two
ways employers can ensure minimum wage compliance is to pay commission-based employees:

(a) base pay of at least the minimum wage, in addition to commissions; or

(b) a “draw” — a minimum guaranteed payment in each pay period, and if commissions due that period
are lower than the draw, then the amount of the draw that exceeds those commissions will serve as an
advance payment of future commissions (see below for more on “draws”).

'C.R.S. §8-4-101(14)(a){l).
2C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(1) and (II).

3 Nieto v. Clark’s Market. Inc., 488 P.3d 1140, 1144 (Colo. 2021) (earned means “owed ‘as return for... work done or
services rendered” by an employee) (citation omitted).

4 “Determinable” means “[a]ble to be determined or ascertained.” Black’s Law Dictionary at 544.
5C.R.S. § 8-4-121.
®C.R.S. §8-4-103(1)(a).

" See the Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards Order (“COMPS Order”), and INFOs #1 and #1A on the
COMPS Order: minimum wage requirements are in COMPS Order Rule 3; recordkeeping requirements relevant to
minimum wage compliance are in Rule 7; and exemptions are in Rule 2, including for “outside salespersons” (Rule 2.2.4).

INFOs are not binding law, but are the officially approved Division opinions and notices on how it applies and interprets various statutes
and rules. The Division continues to update and post new INFOs; email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us with any suggestions. To be
sure to reference up-to-date INFOs, rules, or other material, visit ColoradoLaborLaw.gov. Last updated July 11, 2023
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Earning Commissions and Bonuses

e Employers and employees generally are free to decide what employees must do to earn commissions or
bonuses. That a salesperson earns a commission by making a sale is the “default” rule,® which means it's
the rule unless the employer and employee agree to different requirements. For example, they could agree
in advance that an employee has to do other work, or extra work, to earn a commission or bonus.

Scenario Does the Employer Owe Additional Wages?

Example 1. A software company Yes, because:
offers a $200 bonus to an employee | o Earned: The employee did the agreed work, bringing in new
for each new client that the employee | jiants.

brings in. Then the employee brings . .
in eight new clients, but the employer | ¥ Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: There

doesn’t pay the employee any were no other agreed-upon contingencies for paying bonuses.
bonuses. v Determinable: The amount can be calculated: $200 x 8 = $1,600.

Alliance Financial Network, Inc. d/b/a expo, DLSS Claim #0547-19,
Hearing Officer Decis. #20-059 (Aug. 2020).

Example 2. Under an employer- No, because:
employee agreement, an employee
must both make a sale and collect

X Not Earned: The employee didn’t do all the work required to earn
payment to earn a commission. The commissions. The employee did some of the work (making sales), but

employee leaves the job after making not all of it (collecting payments from customers).

one last sale, but before the customer| Rocky Mountain Enterprises LLC, DLSS Claim #5453-18, Hearing
pays, and receives no commission. | Officer Decis. #20-005 (Jan. 2020).

Calculating Commissions and Bonuses

e The parties should decide in advance how the commissions or bonuses will be calculated. Sometimes,
parties agree that the employer will pay a base salary or a draw. Salaries and draws provide some
stability in take-home pay for people working on commissions or bonuses, but in slightly different ways.

[1 If the employer offers the employee a salary, then the employee takes home the fixed salary amount
each pay period plus all of the commissions due and payable under the parties’ agreement (though
salaries and commissions can have different pay periods and payment dates).

(1 If the employer offers the employee a draw (sometimes called a draw against commissions), then the
employee gets the draw amount on the agreed-upon schedule. Commissions are paid on their usual
schedule, but only to the extent they exceed the already-paid draw. What if the draw exceeds the
amount of commissions earned later? Excess draws aren't recoverable unless the employee agrees in
advance that they will be (in writing, if excess draws are to be taken out of future wage payments).®

[1 The parties may agree that an employer will advance commissions as the employee earns them, subject
to chargebacks. If a condition of paying the commission isn’'t met later (for example, if a client canceled
or didn’t pay for an order), then the advanced commission amount may be taken out of future
commission payments if an agreement specifies how and when the employer can deduct that money.

e Because the premise of a chargeback, or recovery of an excess draw, is that a commission payment was an
“advance,” repaid by being taken from later wages, it must comply with the Wage Act deductions statute.
“Deductions for loans [or] advances” must not take pay below minimum wage, and there must be “a written
agreement between such employer and employee” specifying how and when repayment is to be made.™

8 See Weick v. Rickenbaugh Cadillac Co., 303 P.2d 686, 687 (Colo. 1956).

® See Farr Ins.. Inc. v. Rogers, 510 P.2d 470, 472 (Colo. App. 1973) (citation omitted) (“there was no ... agreement ... to

pay to plaintiff the excess paid to defendant from funds other than from commissions earned. In the absence of such

agreement, the defendant is not ... liable to repay ... any money ... over commissions earned”); see also note 10 below.

0 C.R.S. § 8-4-105(1)(b); see INFO #16, “Deductions From, and Credits Towards, Employee Pay,” and on the specificity

needed for “a written agreement” allowing a chargeback or repayment of a loan or advance, see Example C in INFO #16.
Last updated July 11, 2023
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Scenario

Does the Employer Owe Additional Wages?

Example 3. The employer promises
the employee a “generous” year-end
bonus. There’s no discussion about
what dollar amount either party has in
mind. The employer doesn’t pay a
year-end bonus.

No, because:

X Not Determinable: The dollar amount of the bonus, or a formula
for how it would be calculated, wasn’t specified.

Estes Park Vacation Rentals d/b/a Sky Run Estes, DLSS Claim
#0391-18, Hearing Officer Decis. #19-001 (Jan. 2019).

See also Elevate Flooring Design, LLC, DLSS Claim #4831-18,
Hearing Officer Decis. #19-067 (Sept. 2019) (employee was offered
a commission “to be determined,” but no agreement was reached
on the commission amount).

Example 4. A newspaper pays
commissions on sales right away, but
defines “commissionable sales” as
ones customers don’t cancel within 28
days. If an order is canceled within 28
days, the related commission amount is
taken out of the next commission
payment, per a written agreement.

No, because:

X Not Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement:
The duty to pay commissions was conditioned on an order not being
canceled within 28 days. If an order was canceled, no commission
was owed in the first place, so it can be recovered by chargeback.

Steinhebel v. Los Angeles Times Communications. Inc., 126 Cal.
App. 4th 696 (Cal. App. 2005).

Example 5. An employer provides
roofing services. It offers an employee
commissions of 50% of the projected
revenue from each project sold, where
projected revenue = 80% of the job’s
sale price. It later doesn’t pay the
employee a commission for a job, citing
large project costs resulting in zero
actual revenue for the company.

Yes, because:

v Earned: The employee did the required work: selling roofing
jobs.

v Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement:
There were no agreed-upon contingencies for payment of the
commissions.

v Determinable: The parties agreed to a formula in advance. The
employer can’t avoid paying by changing the formula after the fact.

Javernick Holdings Corp. dba Atlas Roofing Company, DLSS Claim
No. 1295-19, Hearing Officer Decis. #20-023 (Apr. 2020).

Example 6. An employer agrees to pay
a commissioned employee a salary of
$500 per month. This month, the
employee earned $2,000 in
commissions. The employer gives the
employee a paycheck for $2,000.

Yes, because:
v Earned: The employee earned a salary and commissions.

v Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement:
There were no agreed-upon contingencies for payment of these
wages.

v Determinable: The employer originally owed $2,500: $500 in
salary plus $2,000 in commissions. It still owes $500.

If the parties agreed in advance that the $500 monthly payment
would be a draw, then the employer wouldn’t owe more wages. A
$500 draw + $1,500 in remaining commissions = $2,000.

Mile High Real Estate, LLC, DLSS Claim #3764-18, Hearing Officer
Decis. #19-054 (July 2019).

For a case on an employer’s offer of a base salary and a draw, in
addition to commissions, see Office Outfitters and Planners, Inc.,
DLSS Claim #0018-17, Hearing Officer Decis. #18-053 (Aug. 2018).

Last updated July 11, 2023
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Conditions on Paying. and What Happens When an Employee Leaves

Employers and employees generally can agree in advance that the employer doesn’t have to pay a
commission or a bonus unless certain conditions are met. But the Colorado Wage Act “nullifies any effort to
circumvent its requirements by contract.”"" The employer crosses the line if a condition effectively is an
employer exempting itself from its duty to pay wages it owes to an employee.

If an employee leaves the job or is fired, the employer must pay them commissions or bonuses, so long as
they did the required work, any agreed-upon and valid conditions for payment are met, and the wages can
be calculated.' The last two things could happen after the employee is gone.” Employers can’t get around
that rule by relying on invalid agreement terms, such as saying that they don’t have to pay the wages, or that
seem to define how employees earn wages but in reality just punish employees for quitting or termination.

What if a salesperson did the work to make a sale, but then the sale isn’t finalized until after they're no
longer employed? “In the absence of an agreement on whether [the employee] was entitled to receive
commissions on post-termination sales, the general rule is that ‘an agent is entitled to a commission when
[their] efforts were the procuring cause of sale.”"®

Scenario

Does the Employer Owe Additional Wages?

Example 7. An employer tells a

No, because:

call center employee it pays $10 for
each “save”: when a customer calls
to cancel service, but is persuaded
not to, and doesn’t then cancel
within 30 days. The employer then
doesn’t pay the $10 when an
employee convinced a customer
not to cancel, yet the customer
canceled later, within 30 days.

X Not Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: The
parties had a valid agreement that the employer didn’t have to pay if a
call was followed within 30 days by the customer canceling service.

Skybeam LLC d/b/a Rise Broadband, DLSS Claim #5007-18, Hearing

Officer Decis. #19-056 (July 2019).

Example 8. An employer provides
counseling services. It offers to pay
a therapist 50% of all fees it
receives from clients and their
insurers. It does pay that amount.
But it doesn’t pay therapists when it
collects no fees for their sessions;
and it pays only 50% of what it
actually received, even though it
might have been able to bill
insurers at a higher rate than it did.

No, because:

X Not Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: The
employer’s obligation to pay commissions was conditioned on the
employer collecting money from clients/insurers. Commissions for
sessions that weren'’t paid for by clients/insurers weren’t payable.

X Not Determinable: The amount paid was consistent with the
agreement. The parties didn’t agree that the commissions would
account for the maximum fees the employer might have been able to
collect from insurers, if it had tried to bill more.

Mo’ Smiles LLC dba Thriveworks Counseling, DLSS Claim #1987-19,

Hearing Officer Decis. #20-035 (May 2020) (employer “showed that it
paid the claimant 50% of those revenues” it actually received, so it was
not required “to renegotiate its existing agreements with insurers, or to
make any particular level of effort in collecting fees,” regardless of
“‘whether the employer could have collected more than it did” with more
collection or insurance renegotiation effort).

" Nieto, 488 P.3d at 1144 (citing C.R.S. § 8-4-121).

12 See Lee v. Great Empire Broadcasting, Inc., 794 P.2d 1032, 1034 (Colo. App. 1989).

'* Hofer v. Polly Little Realtors, Inc., 543 P.2d 114, 116 (Colo. App. 1975).
4 Cf. Lee, 794 P.2d at 1034 (“the propriety of an employee’s discharge is irrelevant. An employer who fails to pay an

employee the wages earned ... as of ... discharge is liable ..., even if the employer had the absolute right to discharge”).
'® Hofer, 543 P.2d at 116; Restatement of Employment Law, 3.01 (comment d) (Am. Law. Inst. 2015) (citations omitted).
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Scenario

Does the Employer Owe Additional Wages?

Example 9. The employer offers
employees a 10% commission on
sales of advertisements published
in magazines the employer
publishes. The agreement doesn’t
say anything about what happens if
clients cancel or don’t pay for
orders. Later, the employer doesn’t
pay the employee when clients
cancel or don’t pay for orders.

Yes, because:

v Earned: The employee made the sales, which was all they had to do
in exchange for the commissions.

v Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: The
parties didn’t agree in advance that commissions won'’t be paid if clients
cancel or don’t pay for orders.

v’ Determinable: The amount can be calculated: 10% of sales made.

Evergreen Custom Media, DLSS Claim #3942-18, Hearing Officer
Decis. #19-050 (June 2019).

Example 10. The parties agree
that the employee will get a 5%
commission for each job they sell,
to be paid within a week of the
customer paying for it. After the
employee quits, some clients pay
for jobs the employee sold earlier.
The employer doesn’t pay
commissions for those jobs.

Yes, because:

v Earned: The employee did what was required to earn commissions:
make sales.

v Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement:
Commissions weren’t payable until after customers paid. That condition
was met, even if it was after the employee left. Then the employer had a
week to pay the employee.

v’ Determinable: The amount can be calculated: 5% of sales made.

Peak Building Solutions. Inc., DLSS Claim #5649-16, Hearing Officer
Decis. #18-013 (Mar. 2018).

See also Weick v. Rickenbaugh Cadillac Co., 303 P.2d 686, 687 (1956)
(citing the “distinction between ... when a commission is earned and ...
when it may become due and payable”).

Example 11. An employer policy
says an employee “must be an
active Team Member at the time of
payout” to receive bonuses. It fires
an employee the day before it pays
out bonuses, and it doesn’t pay
them the bonus the employer
confirmed they otherwise would
have received.

Yes, because:

v Earned: The company agreed that the employee would have
received bonuses, except for the fact that they were no longer employed
when the company paid bonuses. Its policy didn’t speak to the work the
employee had to do to earn bonuses in the first place.

v Owed in Accordance With the Terms of the Agreement: The
policy didn’t really define valid conditions for paying bonuses. It just said
the employer wouldn’t pay already-earned bonuses to employees who
had a right to them. The law doesn’t “allow employers to manipulate ...
contractual language to avoid paying rightful wages to employees by
conveniently terminating them shortly before their payday.”

v Determinable: There was no dispute as to the bonus amounts.

Hallmon v. Advance Auto Parts, 921 F. Supp. 2d 1110, 1119-20 (D. Colo.
2013).

Discretionary Bonuses

e An employer doesn’t have to pay a “discretionary” bonus'® — one that the parties didn’t agree in advance

to pay, or to the amount.

e A bonus isn’t discretionary if the fact that it would be paid, and how much, was set in advance."’

For More Information: Visit the Division website, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle labor standards@state.co.us.

16 Wages include bonuses earned “in accordance with the terms of any agreement.” C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(I]).
7 United States Beef Corporation d/b/a Arby’s, DLSS Claim #4214-18, Hearing Officer Decis. #19-060 (July 2019) (“from

the outset, it was clear that the employer could decide to award no bonus at all,” so it was discretionary, and the employer
did not owe the employee the claimed bonus).
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