#### COLORADO Department of Labor and Employment

# **COLORADO OVERTIME & MINIMUM PAY STANDARDS ORDER** ("COMPS Order") #39, POSTER & NOTICE

#### Colorado Minimum Wage: inflation-adjusted annually; \$14.42/hour in 2024, (Rule 3)

- Employees must be paid at least minimum wage (whether hourly, salary, commission, piecework, etc.) unless exempt
- Unemancipated minors can be paid 15% less than full minimum wage
- Use the highest minimum wage that applies; all local minimum wages are posted at ColoradoLaborLaw.gov

### Overtime: 1<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> times regular pay rates for hours over 40 weekly, 12 daily, or 12 consecutive (Rule 4)

- Overtime is required each week over 40 hours, or day over 12, even if 2 or more weeks or days average fewer hours
- Employers cannot provide time off ("comp time") instead of time-and-a-half premium pay for overtime hours
- Key variances/exemptions (all are detailed in Rules 2.3-2.4):
- Modified overtime in a small number of health care jobs; exemption for certain heavy vehicle drivers
- No 40-hour weekly overtime in downhill ski/snowboard jobs (but 56-hour overtime for many under federal law)
- Agriculture: overtime after 48-56 hours (based on size and seasonality); extra breaks and pay on long days

## **Meal Periods: 30 minutes uninterrupted and duty-free, for shifts over 5 hours** (Rule 1.9)

- Can be unpaid, but only if employees are completely relieved of all duties, and allowed to pursue personal activities
- If work makes uninterrupted meal periods impractical, eating on-duty must be permitted, and the time must be paid
- To the extent practical, meal periods must be at least 1 hour after starting and 1 hour before ending shifts

## **Rest Periods: 10 minutes, paid, every 4 hours** (Rule 5.2)

<b>#Work Hours:</b>	Up to 2	>2, up to 6	>6, up to 10	>10, up to 14	>14, up to 18	>18, up to 22	>22
<b>#Rest Periods:</b>	0	1	2	3	4	5	6

• Need not be off-site, but must not include work, and should be in the middle of the 4 hours to the extent practical

- Rest periods are time worked for minimum wage and overtime purposes, and if employers do not authorize and permit rest periods, they must pay extra for time that would have been rest periods, including for non-hourly-paid employees
- Key variances/exemptions:
- In some circumstances, 10-minute rest periods can be divided into two of 5 minutes (Rule 5.2.1)
- Agriculture: certain work requires more breaks; other is exempt (Rule 2.3, & Agricultural Labor Conditions Rules)

## **Time Worked:** Pay for time employers allow performing labor/service for their benefit (Rule 1.9)

- All time on-premises, on duty, or at workplaces (but not just letting off-duty employees be on-premises), including:
- putting on/removing work clothes/gear (but not clothes worn outside work), cleanup/setup, or other off-clock duty,
- waiting for assignments at work, or receiving or sharing work-related information,
- security/safety screening, or clocking/checking in or out, or
- waiting for any of the above tasks.
- Travel for employer benefit is time worked; normal home/work travel is not (details in Rule 1.9.2)
- Sleep time, if sufficiently uninterrupted and lengthy, can be excluded in certain situations (details in Rule 1.9.3)

# Deductions, Credits, Charges, & Withheld Pay (Rule 6, and Article 4 of C.R.S. Title 8)

- Final pay: Owed promptly (if a termination by employer) or at next pay date (if employee resigned)

- Meal credits/deductions: Allowed for the cost or value (without employer profit) of voluntarily accepted meals
- must pay for any special cleaning required, and cannot require deposits or deduct for ordinary wear and tear

# **Exemptions from COMPS** (Rule 2.2 lists all; key exemptions are below)

- (then inflation-adjusted in future years), except \$33.17/hour for highly technical computer work
- Other highly compensated, non-manual-labor employees paid at least 2.25 the above salary (\$123,750 in 2024)
- 20% owners, or at a nonprofit the highest-paid/highest-ranked employee, if actively engaged in management
- Various (not all) types of salespersons, taxi drivers, camp/outdoor education field staff, or property managers

## **Record-Keeping & Notices of Rights** (Rule 7)

- (including any tips and credits), and total pay
- provided within one month of beginning work and when employees request a copy
- Employers must include a copy of this poster, or the COMPS Order, in any employment handbook or manual

# **Complaint & Anti-Retaliation Rights** (Rule 8)

- Employers cannot retaliate against, or interfere with, employees exercising their rights
- even if the business is a corporation, partnership, or other entity separate from its owner(s) (Rule 1.6)

This Poster is a summary and cannot be relied on as complete labor law information. For all rules, fact sheets, translations, questions, or complaints, contact: DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS & STATISTICS, ColoradoLaborLaw.gov, cdle\_labor\_standards@state.co.us, 303-318-8441 / 888-390-7936

## *Effective 1/1/24: must update annually;* new poster available each December

• Vacation pay: Departing employees must be paid all accrued and unused vacation pay, including paid time off usable for vacation, without deducting or declaring forfeiture based on cause for termination, lack of resignation notice, etc.

Deductions from pay: Allowed if listed below or in C.R.S. 8-4-105 (including deductions required by law, in a written agreement for the benefit of the employee, for theft in a police report, or for property loss after audit/notice)

Tip credits: Employers can pay up to \$3.02 below the highest applicable minimum wage (Colorado or local), if: (a) tips (not mandatory service charges) raise pay to full minimum, & (b) tips aren't diverted to non-tipped staff/owners

• Lodging credits/deductions: Allowed if housing is voluntarily accepted by the employee, primarily for the employee's (not the employer's) benefit, recorded in writing, and limited to \$25 or \$100 per week (based on housing type)

• Uniforms: Must be provided at no cost unless they are ordinary clothes without special material or design; employers

• Executives/supervisors, administrators, and professionals paid at least a salary (not hourly wages) of \$55,000 in 2024

• Employers must give all employees (and keep for three years) pay statements that include time worked, pay rate

• This year's poster must be displayed where easily accessible, or if not practical (such as for remote workers),

• Violation of notice of rights rules (posting or distribution), including by providing information undercutting this poster, may yield fines and/or ineligibility for employee-specific credits, deductions, or exemptions in COMPS

• Employees can send the Division (contact info below) complaints or tips about violations, or file lawsuits in court

• Anonymous tips are accepted; anonymity or confidentiality are protected if requested (Wage Protection Rule 4.7)

• Owners and other individuals with control over work may be liable for certain violations — not just the business,

• Immigration status is irrelevant to these labor rights: the Division will not ask or report status in investigations or rulings, and it is illegal for anyone to use immigration status to interfere with these rights (Wage Protection Rule 4.8)