Colorado Wage & Hour Rights & Responsibilities:

The COMPS Order (Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards) Poster & Notice

Use new version released by each December

Effective 1/1/2025

Colorado Minimum Wage: \$14.81 per hour in 2025, updated yearly (COMPS Rule 3)

- Must pay at least minimum wage for all time worked, whether by hour, salary, commission, piece rate, etc.
- Use the highest minimum wage applicable; ColoradoLaborLaw.gov lists all local minimum wages
- 15% lower is allowed for unemancipated minors but not for some local minimum wages

Overtime: 1½ regular rate after 40 weekly hours, or 12 daily or consecutive (Rule 4)

- Can't give time off instead of overtime pay; can't average overtime and non-overtime weeks (or days)
- Agriculture: Overtime after 48 hours (56 at some highly seasonal sites); extra breaks and pay on long days
- Some (not all) jobs in health, ski, and heavy vehicles are partly or fully exempt (Rules 2.3-2.4)

Meal Periods: 30 minutes uninterrupted & duty-free, in shifts over 5 hours (Rule 5.1)

- · Can be unpaid only for employees completely relieved of duty, and allowed do personal activities
- If work doesn't allow uninterrupted meal periods: must allow eating on duty, on paid time
- As much as practical, meal periods must be at least 1 hour after starting shifts, and 1 hour before ending

Rest Periods: 10 minutes, paid, every 4 hours (Rule 5.2)

# Work Hours:	Up to 2	>2, up to 6	>6, up to 10	>10, up to 14	>14, up to 18	>18, up to 22	>22
#Rest Periods:	0	1	2	3	4	5	6

- Need not be off-site, but must not include work, and should be in the middle of the 4 hours if practical
- Rest periods count as time worked, including for minimum wage and overtime
- Extra pay is owed for rest period time not authorized or permitted, including for employees not paid hourly
- Break rules differ for some agricultural work (Rule 2.3, & the Agricultural Labor Conditions Rules)

Deductions, Credits, Charges, & Withheld Pay (Rule 6, & Colorado Wage Act)

- Final pay: Owed promptly (if a termination by employer) or at next pay date (if employee resigned)
- Unused vacation: Must pay to departing employees, even if fired for cause or resigned without notice
- Tip credit: Can lower hourly pay up to \$3.02 if tips (not service charges) aren't diverted to untipped staff
- Meals: Can charge cost or value (without profit) of voluntarily accepted meals
- Lodging: Can charge \$25-\$100 weekly (by housing type) if voluntary and primarily for employee benefit
- Uniforms: Can't charge or require deposits for special uniforms, special cleaning, or ordinary wear and tear
- Other deductions: Only for items in CRS 8-4-105; not for poor work, breakage, quitting without notice, etc.

Time Worked: All on-duty or on-premises time that must be paid (Rule 1.9)

- Cleanup or setup (examples: put on or remove clothes, or gear, worn only at work)
- Checking in or out (timeclock, security or safety screening, etc.), or waiting to do so
- Receiving or sharing work information, or wait for tasks but not just off-duty time on premises
- Travel for employer benefit but not normal commuting (Rule 1.9.2)
- Sleep time required to be on-site but not if lengthy and uninterrupted (Rule 1.9.3)

Exemptions from COMPS (Rule 2.2 lists all; highlights below)

- Executive/supervisor, administrator, or professional: \$56,485 (updated yearly) in salary (not hourly pay)
- Other high-level work: non-manual jobs paid 2½ times the above salary; ½ owners who actively manage
- Some (not all) salespeople, computer professionals, drivers, camp/outdoor ed staff, or property managers
- Duties to pay wages, including most limits on deductions, still apply if exempt from COMPS

Employer Responsibilities (Rule 7)

- Give employees pay statements (total pay, rate, tips, credits, and time worked), and keep for 3 years
- Display this poster/notice where easily seen (or give to employees); also include in any handbook/manual
- Use translations (available from this Division) of this poster/notice for employees with limited English
- Not giving (or undercutting) posters or notices may disallow employer credits, deductions, or exemptions
- Individuals with control over work may be liable for wages and violations, even at incorporated employers

Complaint & Anti-Retaliation Rights (Rule 8)

- File complaints in the Division or Court, or send the Division confidential tips
- Retaliation, or actions interfering with rights, may yield fines or other consequences
- Immigration status is irrelevant to these rights, and can't be used to interfere with rights

Contact Us:

DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS & STATISTICS

303-318-8441 / 888-390-7936 / cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us (English or Spanish)

For all laws, guidance, & complaints:

Spanish guidance & complaints:

This notice in other languages:



LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov cdle.colorado.gov/LaborStandardsPosters

ColoradoLaborLaw.gov