
 
TO:  ALL WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE CARRIERS, THIRD-PARTY 

ADMINISTRATORS, AND ALL SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS 
 
FROM:  PAUL TAURIELLO, DIRECTOR  

COLORADO DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
 
DATE:  May 15, 2019 
 
SUBJECT: MAXIMUM RATES FOR WORKERS' COMPENSATION BENEFITS FOR THE YEAR 

BEGINNING JULY 1, 2019, THROUGH AND INCLUDING JUNE 30, 2020. 
 

MAXIMUM TEMPORARY DISABILITY BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

Days: 1 2 3 4 5 6
146.08$     292.16$    438.24$     584.32$    730.40$    876.48$     

1 Week 1,022.56$ 1,168.64$  1,314.72$ 1,460.80$  1,606.88$ 1,752.96$ 1,899.04$  
2 Week 2,045.12$ 2,191.20$  2,337.28$ 2,483.36$  2,629.44$ 2,775.52$ 2,921.60$  
3 Week 3,067.68$ 3,213.76$  3,359.84$ 3,505.92$  3,652.00$ 3,798.08$ 3,944.16$  
4 Week 4,090.24$ 4,236.32$  4,382.40$ 4,528.48$  4,674.56$ 4,820.64$ 4,966.72$   
 
 
 

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019, AT 12:01 AM 
 

MAXIMUM COMPENSATION BENEFIT RATE:  To qualify for the maximum rate of $1,022.56, a wage of 
at least $1,533.84 per week must be earned. 
 
SCHEDULED IMPAIRMENT RATE:  Payable at a weekly compensation rate of $320.90  
 
NON-SCHEDULED (OR MEDICAL) IMPAIRMENT: Payable at the TTD weekly rate, but not less than 
$150.00 per week and not more than $561.86 per week. 
 
BODILY DISFIGUREMENT:  Maximum is $5,413,52 and up to $10,825.13 for extensive facial or body 
scars, burn scars or stumps resulting from the loss of limbs.  
 
LUMP SUMS: Maximum lump sum for an injured worker or sole dependent with a date of injury after 
January 1, 2014 is $94,330.19.  For cases with multiple dependents, the aggregate of all lump sums 
cannot exceed $188,658.00. 
 
COMBINED CAPS: Maximum combined TTD and PPD benefits for individuals with 25% or less whole 
person impairment is $94,330.19.  Maximum combined benefits for individuals with greater than 25% 
whole person impairment are $188,658.00. 
 
FATAL CASE: Maximum of $1,022.56 per week. 

Dependents Benefits: and the extent of their dependency is determined as of the date of 
injury.  The right to death benefits becomes fixed as of that date except as provided in §8-
41-501 (1)(c). 
Minimum Death Benefit:  25% of Maximum Weekly Benefit or $255.64. 
Claims with no dependents: $21,568.53 payable the Colorado Uninsured Employers 
Fund. 



 

STATE OF COLORADO 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DIVISION OF WORKERS′ COMPENSATION 
 

ORDER 
 

WHEREAS, pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute §8-47-106, the State Average Weekly Wage 
shall be established by the Director of the Division of Workers′ Compensation annually, on or before July 
1 based upon the average weekly earnings in Colorado as referenced in §8-73-102 (1)-(3), and being fully 
advised in the premises; 
 

THE DIRECTOR FINDS: 
 
1. That the Colorado State Average Weekly Wage as referenced in § 8-73-102 (1)-(3) is $1,123.71 
 
2. That the maximum benefit rate for Temporary Total Disability, Temporary Partial Disability, 

Permanent Total Disability, and Death Benefits under the Workers′ Compensation Act of 
Colorado shall be ninety-one percent (91%) of such Average Weekly Wage or $1,022.56. 

 
3. That to be eligible for the maximum of $1,022.56 the claimant must have a weekly income of at 

least $1,533.84. 
 
4. Pursuant to §8-42-108(3), the limits of disfigurement are adjusted based on the percentage of 

adjustment to the state average weekly wage.  The maximum limit for disfigurement is $5,413.52 
and up to $10,825.13 for extensive facial or body scars, burn scars or stumps resulting from the 
loss of limbs. 

 
5. Pursuant to §8-42-107(6)(b), the scheduled compensation rate shall be adjusted based on the 

percentage of adjustment to the state average weekly wage.  The compensation rate for a 
scheduled injury is $320.90. 

 
6. Pursuant to §8-42-107.5, the limits on the amount of compensation for combined temporary 

disability payments and partial disability payments shall be increased to $94,330.19 for claimants 
whose impairment rating is twenty-five percent of the whole person or less and $188,658.00 for 
claimants whose whole person impairment rating is greater than twenty-five percent.   

 
7. Pursuant to §8-43-406, for injuries sustained on or after January 1, 2014, the maximum lump sum 

payment for an injured worker or sole dependent is $94,330.19.  In cases where there are multiple 
dependents, the maximum aggregate of all lump sums is $188,658.00. 

 
8. Pursuant to §8-46-102(1)(c), For injuries resulting in death sustained on or after July 1, 2018 in 

which the deceased has no dependents, payment to the Colorado Uninsured Employer Fund shall 
be the sum of $21,568.53.  

 
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED:  That as of 12:01 a.m. July 1, 2019, and for the ensuing twelve 
months through and including June 30, 2020, the benefits rates shall be as described above. 
 
Dated:  May 15, 2019 
 

 DIVISION OF WORKERS′ COMPENSATION 
 

        
 By __________________________________ 

 Paul Tauriello 
 Director 


