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Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 35 Fact Sheet

The Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 35 (7 CCR § 1103-1), effective January 1, 2020 through the expected release of Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay
Standards (COMPS) Order #36 on March 16, 2020, regulates wages, hours, working conditions, and procedures for certain employers and employees in
Colorado. The Wage Order, in some instances, provides different requirements than FLSA. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal wage and

hour laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE).

INDUSTRY COVERAGE TIME WORKED EXEMPTIONS

Applies to private sector employers and The time during which an employee is subject to the control Contact the Division for more

employees in Colorado in the following 4 of an employer, including all the time when the employee is information on the following

industries: suffered or permitted to work whether or not required to do exemptions:

1. Retail and Service s0, is compensable work time. — -

. . . 1. Administrative

2. Commercial Support Service Travel time 2. Executive/Supervisor

3. Food and Beverage All travel time spent at the control and direction of the 3. Professional

4. Health and Medical employer, excluding normal home to work travel, is 4. Outside sales

Does not apply to public sector employers. compensable work time. 5. Domestic employees

Does not apply to independent contractors. Sleep time: 24+ hours tour of duty g g;’::g ?r‘ttl:br;?sitters

Does not apply to a variety of other industries Up to 8 hours of sleeping time can be excluded from 8. Property managers

such as construction, manufacturing, wholesale. compensable work time under certain circumstances. 9 Interstate drivers
Sleep time: Less than 24 hours tour of duty 10.  Driver helpers, loaders,
Periods during which the employee is permitted to sleep are mechanics

—_
—

compensable work time, as long as the employee is on-duty. - Taxicab drivers
12.  Elected officials

Minimum wage (MW) is $12.00 per hour for all }i Xl?é;lrrllsteers

adult employees and emancipated minors. 15 Pri
. soners
Minimum wage credits and exceptions OVERTIME

1. Up to $25 per week for lodging furnished In general, non-exempt employees covered by the Wage
by the employer may count toward MW. Order must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of

2. Reasonable cost of meals provided to the pay for any work in excess of:
employee may count toward MW. 1. 40 hours per workweek;

3. Unemancipated minors under 18 may be 2. 12 hours per workday; or e The Division has jurisdiction over
paid $10.20 per hour. 3. 12 consecutive hours without regard to the start and all questions of fact regarding the

4. Employees with physical disability certified end time of the workday. Wage Order.
by the Director may be paid $10.20 per e Any person may file a written

Exemptions from overtime . . .
hour. complaint with the Division

1. Salespersons, parts-persons, and mechanics employed : S
by automobile, truck, or farm implement dealers. {;%agréi 161rgd21rleged violations of the

2. Certain commissioned salespersons in retail and e Complaints must be filed within 2

TIPPED EMPLOYEES 3. Certain ski industry employees. Y & §

except that all actions brought for a

5. Deductions from wages must be in
accordance with the Wage Act.

1. Anemployee engaged in an occupation 4. Certain medical transportation employees. willful violation shall be
where he or she customarily and regularly commenced within three (3) years
receives more than $30 per month in tips is after the cause of action.
defined as a tipped employee. accrues.and not after that time.
2. Employers must pay a wage of at least MEAL PERIODS
$8.98 per hour. If tips combined with 1. Employees are entitled to an uninterrupted and duty- REPRISALS
wages do not equal minimum wage, the free 30-minute unpaid meal period when their work

employer must make up the difference in

shift exceeds 5 consecutive hours. Employers shall not threaten, coerce,
cash wages.

. . . . 2. The employee must be completely relieved of all duties | | ©F d_isu_:har_ge any employe@ bepause of
3. Employer-required sharing of tips with for the meal period participation in any investigation or
employees who are not customarily tipped ; hearing related to the Minimum Wage

nullifies tip credits toward minimum wage. 3. Ifthe above conditions are not met, then the employee Act (CR.S. § 8-6-101 et seq.)
must be allowed to consume a meal on-duty, and be

4. Deduc'tion of credit card prqcessipg fees. compensated for the entire on-duty meal period.
from tipped employees nullifies tip credits DUAL JURISDICTION

toward minimum wage.
REST PERIODS Whenever employers are subject to
both federal and Colorado law, the
: ; law providing the greater protection
UNIFORMS e Employees are entitled to a compensated 10-minute rest p gtesg prot
_ period for each 4 hours of work or major fractions or benefit for the employee will

1. The employer must pay the cost of the thereof. Wages may not be deducted for the rest period. apply.
employee uniform if the uniform requires a . . .
specific make, 10go, or material. ° I;l is not r'equl;ed t}lllat the empl(;)yee be permitted to leave POSTING REQUIREMENTS

2. Clothing that is considered ordinary street- the premises for the rest period.
wear does not constitute a uniform. Employers covered by the Wage

3. Employers may require a reasonable This complimentary guide is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor Order must display a Wage Order
deposit up to 50% of the cost of the Standards and Statistics. Its condensed and simplified content is for general poster 1n an area frequented by o
uniform that must be refunded to the informational purposes only, and does not constitute legal advice. For more employees during the workday. Visit

information contact the Division, an attorney, or an HR professional. www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor to
obtain a free poster.

employee upon return.
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