COLORADO Department of Labor and Employment

Division of Labor Standards and Statistics

633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-2107

303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion ("INFO") # 1:

Key Wage and Hour Rights and Responsibilities in Colorado: the COMPS and PAY CALC Orders

Overview

- This INFO #1 summarizes, and explains how to apply, key wage and hour rights and responsibilities under Colorado law which are detailed in two sets of Colorado labor rules.
 - Many key wage and hour rights and responsibilities are in the <u>Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay</u> <u>Standards Order ("COMPS Order")</u>, including:
 - what is required to comply with minimum wage, overtime pay, and meal and rest break rights;
 - what **deductions**, **credits**, or other charges by employers are and aren't legal;
 - what is and isn't "time worked" that must be paid;
 - when and how employers must use **posters and written notices** to tell employees their rights; and
 - who's covered by these rights and responsibilities, and who's **exempt**.
 - Each year's **minimum wages**, and various **exemption pay levels** (*e.g.*, to be an exempt manager), are in the <u>Publication And Yearly Calculation of Adjusted Labor Compensation Order ("PAY CALC Order")</u>.
- This INFO #1, and the <u>COMPS Poster</u> that notifies employees of their rights, are updated annually with any wage and hour law changes, including the upcoming year's minimum wage.

Coverage (Rule 2)

- The COMPS Order covers all private sector work, except for exempt jobs and employers (see below).¹
- The COMPS Order covers "employers" and "employees," not others such as independent contractors.
 - Whether an individual is an employee or independent contractor depends on the actual facts, not just what documents say (contract, 1099 tax form, etc.) — for more detail, see INFO #10.²

Colorado Minimum Wage (Rule 3)

- The 2024 Colorado minimum wage is \$14.42 per hour for all employees covered by the COMPS Order.³
 - Non-hourly pay (salary, piece rate, commission, etc.) still must be at least minimum wage for all time worked, unless the employee is exempt from the minimum wage.
- Employers can pay less than the full minimum wage in certain situations:
 - Most minors (but not "emancipated" minors) can be paid 15% below the full Colorado minimum wage.
 - Employers can claim some credits against wages owed (like for tips received), and make some deductions (like for employee meals) — with important limits and conditions (in Rule 6, detailed below).
- Various areas in Colorado have a higher local minimum wage; all are posted at ColoradoLaborLaw.gov.
 For more detail on how and when local minimum wages apply, see INFO #19.

<u>2007</u> <u>2008</u> <u>2009</u> <u>2010</u> <u>2011</u> <u>2012</u> <u>2013</u> <u>2014</u> <u>2015</u> <u>2016</u> <u>2017</u> <u>2018</u> <u>2019</u> <u>2020</u> <u>2021</u> <u>2022</u> <u>2023</u> \$6.85 \$7.02 \$7.28 \$7.24 \$7.36 \$7.64 \$7.78 \$8.00 \$8.23 \$8.31 \$9.30 \$10.20 \$11.10 \$12.00 \$12.32 \$12.56 \$13.65

¹ Exemptions are covered in Rules 2.2-2.4. Before the COMPS Order took effect in 2020, its predecessor, the Colorado Minimum Wage Order, covered only certain industries. The COMPS Order ended those industry limitations.

² The COMPS Order uses the "employee" and "employer" definitions in the <u>Colorado Wage Act</u> (C.R.S. § 8-4-101(5),(6)); for paid sick leave, use the definitions in the <u>Healthy Families and Workplaces Act</u> (§ 8-13.3-402(4),(5)); for certain agricultural rights, use those in the <u>Agricultural Labor Rights and Responsibilities Act</u> (§§ 8-13.5-201(1),(3); 8-6-101.5(3)).

³ Past Colorado minimum wages, by year:

Overtime Pay (Rule 4)

- Employers must pay 1½ times an employee's regular rate of pay ("time and a half") for hours past either
 (A) 40 per week, (B) 12 per day, or (C) any 12 consecutive hours whichever results in higher pay.
 This means employers:
 - can't add or average hours in multiple weeks to determine overtime for example, a 50-hour week includes 10 hours of overtime, even if the employee works only 30 hours the week before (or after); and
 - o can't provide time off instead of time-and-a-half overtime pay sometimes called "comp time."
- Non-exempt employees can still be paid by salary (or other non-hourly pay), but overtime premium pay still must be added for overtime hours.
 - A salary can cover all hours worked, with a regular rate divided by the actual number of hours worked,
 if the employer and employee have a clear mutual understanding that the salary:
 - (1) compensates all hours worked;
 - (2) is at least minimum wage for all hours worked;
 - (3) is supplemented by at least ½ the regular rate for any overtime hours; and
 - (4) is paid for whatever hours the employee works in a workweek.
 - Otherwise, the salary is divided by 40 hours to determine the regular rate.
- The "regular rate" that rises 50% in overtime hours includes all wages or compensation⁴ an employee received or was entitled to (whichever is higher) in a week, divided by all hours worked. The regular rate:
 - o **includes any type** of pay received or owed for work whether hourly rate, shift differential, minimum wage tip credit (but not tips), piece rate, production or nondiscretionary bonus, or commission; **except** it
 - o does not include
 - **reimbursements** that aren't "wages or compensation" e.g., mileage or business expenses,
 - payments not for "labor or service performed" (e.g., bona fide gifts, as opposed to bonuses) or (even if for labor or services) for paid time off (e.g., vacations, holidays, sick leave, jury duty),
 - discretionary bonuses e.g., annual bonuses not based on productivity or regular production, or
 - employer investment contributions typically covered by benefits law, not wage law.

Example 1: For 40-hour, 5-day weeks, an employee receives \$1200 (i.e., \$240 per day, \$30 per hour) plus 6 days each of several kinds of paid days off (vacation, holidays, and sick leave) paid at \$240 per day (\$1200 per week divided by five days), except holiday days off are paid \$320 (\$40 per hour). One week had a Monday paid holiday, then the employee worked 44 hours in four 11-hour days. They are owed 4 hours of overtime; the count of overtime hours excludes the Monday paid time off. Their regular rate of pay was \$30; the higher Monday holiday pay (\$320 daily, \$40 hourly) isn't included, because a regular rate is an average of only *work* time pay that counts toward the 40-hour non-overtime hours limit.

Example 2: An employee is paid \$20 per hour, except \$25 for work on nights outside regular shifts (8 p.m. - 6 a.m.). But the employee is paid no overtime premium for hours past 40 in a week. Whether or not the hours past 40 are shift differential hours, the employer owes overtime premium pay of 1½ times the employee's "regular rate" for the week — which is their average rate for all their time worked that week. That means their overtime rate varies by how many higher- and lower-rate hours they work each week:

⁴ For more on what does and doesn't count as "wages or compensation," see INFO #3.

Overtime Pay Owed, if an Employee with Multiple Wage Rates Received No Overtime Premium Pay⁵

Hours at \$20 Base Rate	Hours at \$25 Shift Differential	Wages Paid (if no overtime premium is paid)	Regular Rate (the rate that rises 50% for overtime; the average of all pay in the week)	Overtime Rate (1½ x the regular rate)	Overtime Owed: Per Hour	Overtime Owed: Per Week
36 hours	24 hours	\$1320 36 hours x \$20 +24 hours x \$25	\$22/hr The average of 36 hours at the \$20 base rate, & 24 hours at the \$25 shift differential: Total non-OT pay (\$1320) ÷ Total hours worked (60) = Regular rate (\$22)	\$33/hr 1½ x the \$22 regular rate	\$11/hr \$33/hr (overtime rate) - \$22/hr (regular rate)	\$220 \$11/hr (the hourly overtime owed) x 20 (the number of overtime hours)
10 hours	40 hours	\$1200 10 hours x \$20 +40 hours x \$25	\$24/hr The average of 10 hours at the \$20 base rate, & 40 hours at the \$25 shift differential: Total non-OT pay (\$1200) ÷ Total hours worked (50) = Regular rate (\$24)	\$36/hr 1½ x the \$24 regular rate	\$12/hr \$36/hr (overtime rate) - \$24/hr (regular rate)	\$120 \$12/hr (the hourly overtime owed) x 10 (the number of overtime hours)

Meal Periods (Rule 5.1; see INFO #4 for more detail on meal and rest periods)

- For **shifts over 5 hours**, employees are entitled to uninterrupted, duty-free **30-minute** meal periods.
 - To the extent practical, meal periods must be at least 1 hour after a shift starts and 1 hour before it ends.
- Meal periods can be unpaid if employees are completely relieved of all duty and free for personal activity.
 - o If the work makes an uninterrupted meal period impractical, the employee must be allowed to eat a meal while on-duty and working, and that time **must be paid**.

Rest Periods (Rule 5.2; see INFO #4 for more detail on meal and rest periods)

• For **each 4 hours** of work, employers must authorize and permit compensated **10-minute** rest periods:

Work Hours:	2 or fewer	over 2 , up to 6	over 6 , up to 10	over 10 , up to 14	over 14 , up to 18	over 18 , up to 22	over 22
Rest Periods Required:	0	1	2	3	4	5	6

- Rest periods must not include work, but leaving the premises isn't necessary.
- To the extent practical, rest periods should be in the middle of each 4-hour work period.
- If any required rest period time isn't allowed and permitted, extra pay is owed for the extra time worked.
- Exceptions to the requirement that rest periods must be 10 minutes for every four hours worked:
 - o if employee and employer agree, voluntarily and without coercion, to two 5-minute breaks, if 5 minutes is enough to go back and forth to a bathroom or other place where a bona fide break would be taken; or
 - o if work is Medicaid-funded home care *or* under a collective bargaining agreement, then rest periods can be 5 minutes in a 4-hour period, if over the day they average 10 minutes per 4 hours.

⁵ Or to calculate weekly overtime owed, for any number of hours worked, at two or more different rates:

Total Weekly Pay Without Overtime (for all work, at base or premium rates)

X Overtime Hours Worked (total hours minus 40)

1/2

X

Total Hours Worked

Time Worked (Rule 1.9; see INFO #20 for more detail on time worked).

- Compensable "time worked" is all time performing labor or services for an employer's benefit, including all time employees are suffered or permitted to work, whether or not required.
- Time worked includes time employers permit or require employees to be on-premises, on duty, or at a
 prescribed workplace, but not just letting employees relieved from duty arrive or remain on-site. Examples:
 - putting on or removing required clothes or gear, but not uniforms also worn outside work
- pre- or post-shift meetings, or other sharing or receiving of work-related information
- clock or check in/out, or security/safety screening
- staying at work waiting for assignments
- set-up, clean-up, or other "off the clock" duties
- waiting for activities like those listed here.
- "Travel time" means time spent on travel for the benefit of an employer, and is time worked, but not normal home to work travel. Rule 1.9.2 details what travel to or from work stations is compensable.
- "Sleep time" means time employees may sleep, which may or may require pay, Rule 1.9.3 details.

Exemptions from COMPS: *Read Rules 2.2-2.5 carefully for whether specific work is exempt, because just being **salaried**, alone, is **not enough**; exemptions require certain **duties**.

- Executives/Supervisors, Administrative Decision-Makers, and Professionals ("EAP"), who have both:
 - (A) duties that define those types of jobs (see Rules. 2.2.1-2.2.3, and INFO #1A), and
 - (B) a salary (not, for example, an hourly wage or day rate) of at least the following amount⁶ —

Until July 2020	July-Dec.'20	2021	2022	2023	2024	Each Year After 2024
Salary equal to minimum wage for all hours worked		\$40,500	\$45,000	\$50,000	\$55,000	Inflation-adjusted (in 2025, \$55,000 plus the past year's inflation)

- For these exemptions, pay qualifies as salary⁷ only if it's a pre-set sum for a week to a month that isn't reduced for variation in work quality, quantity, or hours except deductions are allowed for:
 - absence for 1+ days for personal reasons, or sickness or disability under a bona fide plan, policy, or practice of compensating lost salary;
- leave under family/ medical leave law;
- good-faith penalties under major **safety** rules, or unpaid disciplinary suspensions of 1+ days under **workplace conduct** rules; or
- payments of jury/witness fees, or military pay.
- The salary rule **doesn't require** paying these salaries, because employers have **options** to comply: (a) pay exempt **salaries**; (b) pay hourly rates **with overtime**; *or* (c) arrange shifts to **minimize overtime**.
- Outside salespersons if at least 80% of their work time is related to their sales (R. 2.2.4).
- 20% owners (or a nonprofit's highest-paid/highest-ranked employee) actively managing the entity (R. 2.2.5).
- Government-licensed **taxi drivers** (R. 2.2.6).
- Some resident workers, e.g., babysitters, property managers, camp/outdoor education field staff (R. 2.2.7).
- Bona fide volunteers for non-profits and work-study students receiving school credit (R. 2.2.8).
- Elected officials and their staff (R. 2.2.9).
- Highly technical computer-related employees (R. 2.2.10) paid at least \$33.17 per hour in 2024.8
- Highly compensated employees (R. 2.2.11) who:
 - (A) do **office or non-manual work** as their **primary duty** (for example, not a non-managerial electrician);
 - (B) also customarily and regularly perform one or more exempt EAP duties (above); and
 - (C) receive at least the EAP salary (above) weekly, and 2½ times that salary annually (\$123,750 in 2024).9

⁶ Except doctors, lawyers, and teachers can be exempt based on just duties, without a minimum salary, as in federal law.

⁷ The COMPS Order uses the federal Fair Labor Standards Act "Salary Requirement" rules, 29 C.F.R. Part 541, Subpt. G.

⁸ This pay level is adjusted annually in the PAY CALC Order; it was \$31.41 in 2023, and \$28.92 in 2022.

⁹ This pay level is adjusted annually in the PAY CALC Order; it was \$112,500 in 2023, and \$101,250 in 2022.

Exemptions from Overtime Requirements (Rules 2.4.1-2.4.7, 2.4.10)

- Specific kinds of sales employees that are overtime-exempt:
 - o salespersons or mechanics at certain vehicle or farm equipment dealers (R. 2.4.1); and
 - o **commission salespeople** of a retail/service employer drawing 75% of its revenue from sales, if paid at least (A) ½ from commissions and (B) 1½ of minimum wage (R. 2.4.2).
- **Ski** employees with duties directly related to downhill ski/snowboarding or on-mountain food/beverage service, but not lodging: exempt from **40-hour** overtime (federal law may give 56-hour overtime) (R. 2.4.3).
- Medical transportation employees on 24-hour shifts: exempt from 12-hour overtime (R. 2.4.4).
- Certain care employees:
 - o **hospital/nursing home** employees paid under the federal **8/80 rule** requiring overtime for hours past 80 per 14-day period and 8 per day: exempt from **40- and 12-hour overtime** (R. 2.4.5); and
 - Medicaid-funded **direct care workers** on 24-hour shifts: exempt from **12-hour** overtime (R. 2.4.7).
- Certain **interstate transport** employees: **overtime-exempt** to varying **degrees**, with some also exempt from meal/rest periods see the particular rule for each type of employee (R 2.4.6, R 2.4.10).

Agricultural Employment (Rule 2.3). See <u>INFO #12</u> for more on agricultural labor rights and responsibilities — not just wages and hours but also workplace safety, union-management relations, and more.

- Colorado and local minimum wages cover all agricultural employees except range workers (see below).
- Overtime. Agricultural jobs (see Rule 2.3) are exempt from 40- and 12-hour overtime if workers receive: 10
 - weekly time-and-a- half overtime pay after (in 2024)¹¹ 54 hours, except
 - at "highly seasonal employers," after 56 hours in up to 22 peak weeks, otherwise after 48, and
 - at "small employers," after 56 hours; 12 and
 - o daily, the following additional pay
 - after 12 hours worked, a half-hour paid break instead of the usual shorter third rest period, and
 - after **15 hours** worked, an **extra hour's pay** of at least the Colorado minimum wage.
- Rest & meal periods under Rule 5 apply to agricultural employees, with the following additions.
 - Workers engaged in hand-weeding/thinning have 15 (not 10) minutes of rest per 4 hours.
 - Other break time may apply in certain conditions; see the <u>Agricultural Labor Conditions Rules</u>.
- Exemptions or variances for agricultural workers include the following (see Rules 2.3 and 2.4.8-2.4.9).
 - Owners (or part-owners) of agricultural employers, and certain of their family, are overtime-exempt.
 - Decision-making livestock managers paid the exempt salary in Rule 2.5 are overtime-exempt.
 - o **Operators** of trucks hauling livestock or harvesters/combines are exempt from rest or meal periods.
 - Range workers: Minimum wage and overtime rights don't apply when a worker is "principally engaged in the range production of livestock...on the open range" with a weekly salary of at least \$590.61 (in 2024).¹⁴

¹⁰ These partial overtime exemptions for agriculture don't apply to agricultural employers drawing at least 50% of revenue from sales to the consuming public, rather than resale; such employers were covered as "retail and service" in prior orders.

¹¹ Weekly overtime requirements are phasing in since 2022, reaching their final levels in 2025; see <u>INFO #12A</u> for details, including the different overtime requirements of each year from 2022 through 2025.

¹² For the details on who qualifies as a "highly seasonal" or "small" employer, see INFO #12A.

¹³ 7 CCR 1103-15. See <u>INFOs #12B-D</u> for more detail.

¹⁴ C.R.S. § 8-6-101.5(b). The PAY CALC Order adjusts this salary annually; it was \$559.29 in 2023, \$515.00 in 2022.

<u>Deductions</u>, <u>Credits</u>, <u>and Charges</u> (Rule 6; for more detail, see <u>INFO #16</u>). The Wage Act limits deductions from wages (<u>C.R.S § 8-4-105</u>), and the COMPS Order details various specific deductions, credits, and charges:

- Lodging credits are allowed if housing is: (1) voluntarily accepted by the employee; (2) primarily for employee (not employer) benefit and convenience; (3) recorded in a written agreement; and (4) depending on lodging type, at most \$25 or \$100 weekly (or less, depending on market value or actual employer cost).
- Meal credits are allowed for the cost or value (without profit) of meals that employees voluntarily accept.
- **Uniforms** that are ordinary, plain, and washable clothing (with no special color, make, pattern, logo, or material required) need not be provided. But employers must pay for particular uniforms or special apparel. Employers can't require deposits or deduct for ordinary uniform wear and tear.
- **Tip credits** of up to \$3.02 per hour may offset wages of employees regularly receiving over \$1.64 per hour in tips they (A) directly receive (e.g., waitstaff or hotel housekeepers), or (B) share among employees who perform significant customer-service functions in contact with patrons. For more details, see INFO #3C.
 - Employers can't pay less than \$3.02 below the highest applicable minimum wage (including any local minimum wage), and must pay the difference if direct wages plus tips fall below that minimum.

Employer Record-Keeping and Posting Requirements (Rule 7)

- **Records**. Employers must: keep records for each employee with the information listed in Rule 7.1; issue employees itemized earnings statements for each pay period worked; and retain that information for at least three years plus the duration of any wage claim related to the employee.
- **Posting**. (For updated COMPS Posters, see the Division website, ColoradoLaborLaw.gov)
 - o Employers must display a current COMPS Poster where employees may easily read it
 - o If physical posting is impractical (e.g., remote employees, or worksites without viable posting sites), employers must provide each employee the COMPS Order or Poster in their first month of employment.
 - Employers that fail to post as required are ineligible for employee-specific credits or exemptions.

Distribution.

- If an employer distributes a handbook, manual, or written or posted policies, it must include a copy of the current COMPS Order or Poster — and if it requires signed acknowledgment of receiving those materials, it must require signed acknowledgement of receiving the current COMPS Order or Poster.
- Employers must make a copy of the COMPS Order or Poster available upon any employee's request.
- **Minimizing**, **undercutting**, **or detracting** from postings or notices renders an employer non-compliant *e.g.*, telling employees a right or responsibility doesn't apply, won't be followed, shouldn't be exercised, etc.
- **Translation**. If employees have limited English language ability, employers must use a Spanish-language version of the COMPS Order or Poster, or ask the Division for another language. The Division already has COMPS Poster translations in languages posted on its website, ColoradoLaborLaw.gov.

Complaint Rights, Procedures, & Protections (Rules 8.1-8.5)

- Employees may file **wage and hour complaints**¹⁵ in the Division or court, including for wages owed under any agreement (written or verbal) or federal, state, or local law (e.g., city ordinance/rule) see INFO #2.
- Individuals with operational control may be liable, even at incorporated employers see INFO #11A.
- It is illegal to take or threaten actions that **retaliate** for actual or anticipated activity on wage and hour rights, such as filing complaints, providing information, etc. (Rule 8.5, and C.R.S. 8-4-120) see INFO#5.

For More Information: Visit the Division <u>website</u>, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us.

¹⁵ Other INFOs cover retaliation (#5), job posting (#9), agricultural work (#12), or union/management relations (#15) complaints.