Division of Labor Standards and Statistics 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-2107

303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion ("INFO") #12:

Summary: Requirements of the Agricultural Labor Rights & Responsibilities Act (ALRRA)

- (1) Wages & Breaks [Details in INFO #12A (wages) & INFO #12B (breaks)]
- Minimum wage: Pay must be at least \$14.42/hour in 2024; this minimum rises yearly for cost of living.
 - Piece rate or other pay must still total at least the minimum wage for the worker's hours that week.
- Time-and-a-half overtime (for example, \$30.00 per hour for workers regularly paid \$20.00 per hour)
 - After 60 hours from November 1, 2022, until the end of 2023:
 - In **2024**, after **54 hours**, except for small employers (56 hours), and highly seasonal employers (48 hours, except 56 hours during peak seasons);
 - As of **2025**, after **48 hours**, except **56 hours** for highly seasonal employers' peak seasons.
- Rest breaks: Workers must be fully relieved of duty for paid breaks of 10 minutes every 4 hours, plus:
 - the third paid rest break must be 30 minutes in days over 12 hours; and
 - an extra 1-hour break in weeks over 60 hours, or two extra 1-hour breaks in weeks over 70 hours.
- Meal breaks: In workdays of at least 5 hours, workers must be given 30-minute meal breaks.
 - If workers are fully relieved of duty, meal breaks can be unpaid. If not, they can eat on paid work time.
 - (2) Worksite Access to Key Service Providers (health/legal/education/etc.) [Details in INFO #12B]
- Workers can see key service providers at the worksite when off-duty or on-duty for health needs.
- In weeks over 40 hours, workers can extend an unpaid meal break to 60 minutes.
- Extra 60-minute paid breaks required in long weeks: one break in 60+ hr weeks; two in 70+ hr weeks
- Housed workers can have visitors when off-duty, and weekly transportation to see service providers.
 - (3) Health & Safety Protections: Heat; Housing; Weeding & Thinning [Details in INFO #12C]
- When the temperature is **80 degrees** or higher, workers have the right to water and shade:
 - Water, 32 ounces an hour, 60 degrees or colder, that workers can drink on shifts *and* breaks (or if workers travel most of the day, as much water as possible, or equipment to carry or purify water)
- Shade, near enough to worksites, and with enough space, for use during breaks (or, if shade can't be provided, other sun protection like individual cooling items)
- In these increased risk conditions, workers must have 10 minutes' rest after each 2 hours worked:
 - temperature 95 degrees or higher
- unhealthy air quality
- workers' first 4 days of work

- work requiring heavy clothing/gear
- days over 12 hours
- Short-handled hoes aren't allowed, and for other weeding or thinning:
 - employers must provide gloves and knee pads for any hand-weeding, -thinning, or hot-capping; and
 - **stooped, kneeling, or squatting** work is strongly disfavored unless there's no other suitable method.
- **Public health emergencies (PHEs)**: employers must provide PHE-related safety materials and training, and employer housing must meet minimum square footage requirements or comply with CDPHE orders.
 - (4) Enforcement: Notice of Rights; Retaliation; Complaints & Questions [Details in INFO #12D]
- Employers must notify **employees of ALRRA rights**, including with worksite postings and trainings, and **can't retaliate** against anyone for trying to use or defend any ALRRA rights or protections.
- Workers can file **complaints of violations** (wages/breaks, retaliation, heat, housing, services, etc.), and **employers can ask questions** about compliance, at the **Division contact information** on top of this page.
 - (5) Union Rights & Responsibilities [Details in INFO #15A]
- If workers ask, the Division runs elections for them to **vote whether to form a union** to represent them.
- The Division investigates **unfair labor practice complaints** for example, if an employer punishes union-related activity, or if a union strikes without advance notice in situations when notice is required.