#### **Division of Labor Standards and Statistics**

633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-2107

303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

# Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion ("INFO") #22

**Employment of Minors in Colorado** 

## **OVERVIEW**

- This INFO covers what types of work, hours, and pay are allowed for those under age 18, under:
  - the Colorado Youth Employment Opportunity Act ("CYEOA"), C.R.S. Title 8, Article 12; and
  - the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA").<sup>1</sup>
- For information on:
  - o federal law on minors, see the U.S. Department of Labor ("USDOL") Child Labor Bulletin 101;2 or
  - o other Colorado labor laws covering minors and adults alike, see the INFOs on each topic.3

#### **COVERAGE OF FEDERAL AND STATE LAW**

- Colorado law covers employees and independent contractors performing any work that must be paid.<sup>4</sup>
  - Exceptions: minors with a high school diploma/GED; news delivery; work for parents/guardians that the parents/guardians aren't paid for; home chores; and school work or activities.
- **Federal** law covers work for *either* (1) employers with annual revenue of at least \$500,000, (2) hospitals, schools, or care facilities, (3) government agencies, *or* (4) any job participating in interstate commerce.<sup>5</sup>
  - Examples of what federal coverage excludes:
    - paying an individual for in-home, non-revenue-generating work babysitting, cleaning, etc.; or
    - businesses with under \$500,000 in revenue a pretzel cart, a hat kiosk in a mall, etc.<sup>6</sup>
  - Exceptions: news delivery; non-hazardous work for parents' business; performing; home wreath-making.
- Apply whichever is stricter if both federal and Colorado law apply. Examples:
  - Federal law has a stricter age minimum (16) for certain tasks, like manufacturing, than Colorado (14).
    - Apply the stricter standard: 16 is the minimum for manufacturing work in Colorado.
  - Colorado has a stricter age minimum (18) for weeks over 40 hours, or days over 8, than federal law (16).
    - ☐ Apply the stricter standard: 18 is the minimum for weeks over 40 hours, or days over 8, in Colorado.8

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> U.S.C. Title 29, Chapter 8; see also FLSA regulations, including C.F.R. Title 29, Parts 570–579.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> USDOL Wage & Hour Division, <u>Child Labor Bulletin 101</u>, "Child Labor Provisions for Nonagricultural Occupations under the Fair Labor Standards Act," WH1330 (2016). This INFO details less on federal *agriculture* rules; see <u>Child Labor Bulletin 102</u>, "Child Labor Requirements in Agricultural Occupations under the Fair Labor Standards Act," WH1295 (2016).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> E.g., INFOs #1 (wage/hour basics), 2 (complaints), 4 (breaks), 6 (paid sick leave), 20 ("time worked" that must be paid).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Covered "[e]mployment" is any work for "money or other ... consideration, whether paid to the minor or to some other person, including ... as a servant, agent, subagent, or independent contractor." <u>C.R.S. 8-12-103(4)</u> (emphasis added).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> For #4, an employee must *directly* participate in interstate commerce, not just *use* items that moved interstate.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Except: employees buying supplies from out of state suppliers may be covered as "participating in interstate commerce."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Parents (or guardians) must be 100% owners, and mining/manufacturing is allowed only at 16. 29 C.F.R. 570.2(a)(2).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> "Federal Child Labor Provisions Do Not: . . . limit the number of hours or times of day that workers 16 years of age or older may legally work, though many states do . . . ." <u>Child Labor Bulletin 101</u>, p.2.

## WORK HOUR RESTRICTIONS (C.R.S. 8-12-105; 29 C.F.R. 570.35)

- Minors of Any Age: At most 40 hours per week, and 8 hours in any 24-hour period.9
- Under Age 16:
  - Nights/mornings: no work from 7:00 pm (or 9:00 pm from June 1 to Labor Day) to 7:00 am<sup>10</sup>
  - School days:
     during school hours, no work, except with approval (detailed below)
    - outside school hours but on school days, 3 hours maximum (including Friday)<sup>11</sup>
  - School weeks: 18 hours maximum in weeks with any school days

## WORK & SCHOOL RELEASE PERMITS, & AGE CERTIFICATES (C.R.S. 8-12-111, 113)

- No work permit is required but school-hours work isn't permitted before age 14, and at ages 14-15:
  - (1) If federal law applies (see p.1), then federal law allows school-hours work **only under a USDOL-approved work experience, career exploration, or work-study program**, with other requirements, including school and parent agreement.<sup>12</sup>
  - (2) If federal law is inapplicable, or allows the work: **Colorado requires a school release permit** that a school can issue, for up to 30 days, based on a minor's best interests, with parent approval, employer confirmation of non-hazardous duty, and 3 class hours generally still required.<sup>13</sup>
- Age Certificate: To confirm that a minor is old enough for a specific job, an employer may, but doesn't need to, ask the minor for an age certificate, issued by the school or county where they live.<sup>14</sup>

## MINIMUM WAGES FOR MINORS (C.R.S. 8-6-108.5(1))

- Minimum wages adjust annually for inflation, and are posted on www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov.
- <u>Colorado minimum wage</u>: Employers can pay most minors 85% of the full Colorado minimum wage for example, in 2023, \$11.61 rather than the full \$13.65 minimum except:
  - Only "non-emancipated" minors, not "emancipated" minors, can be paid the 85% minimum.
  - A tip credit of up to \$3.02 per hour may be applied to the minor minimum wage, making the 2023 Colorado minimum for a tipped minor \$8.59 *if* all tip requirements (see the <a href="INFO#3">INFO#3</a> series) are met.
  - Underpaid minors are owed full minimum wage. Paying 85% of the full minimum is just an option employers "may" choose, not a requirement to reduce minors' pay. An employer paying less than 85% of the full minimum hasn't lawfully taken advantage of that option, so it owes the full minimum.
    - **Example 1**: A 14-year old worked for \$8.65 per hour for 10 hours in 2023. The employer *could've* offered and paid 85% of the full minimum (\$11.61 per hour), but didn't. So the minor is owed \$50.00 in unpaid wages: \$5.00 for each of the 10 hours paid only \$8.65, rather than the full \$13.65 minimum.
- <u>Higher local minimum wages</u>: Employers must pay any local minimum wage above Colorado's, such as in **Denver** which allows the reduction to 85% for *only* city-certified youth employment program work.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> Exceptions to these hours limits: (1) during an emergency the Division authorizes; and (2) in seasonal, piece-rate, harvest work, up to 12 hours per 24 hours, and 30 hours per 72 hours, as of age 14 — except only 10 days of over 8 hours in a 30-day period at ages 14-15. Also, overtime pay is required after 40 hours weekly or 12 daily (see INFO #1).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> If state but not federal law applies, the CYEOA limit is: no 9:30 pm - 5:00 am work before school days, except babysitting.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>11</sup> If state but not federal law applies, the CYEOA limit is: at most 6 hours per day, unless the next day isn't a school day.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>12</sup> 29 C.F.R. §§ 570.36–37. For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>13</sup> See <u>C.R.S. 8-12-113(2)</u> for the other details required. Also, the permit must be issued by a board of education or superintendent, or a person they designate, and the 3-hour class requirement can be waived for "extreme hardship."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>14</sup> An employer must keep certificates available for Division review, and return them to minors when jobs end. Certificate information includes: name, address, birth date, and description of minor; date issued; issuing officer name and position; and the evidence accepted as age proof (birth certificate, passport, etc.). C.R.S. 8-12-112.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>15</sup> Minors who: self-support; are married living away from parents; or depend on work for well-being. C.R.S. 8-6-108.5.

## EXEMPTION REQUESTS (C.R.S. 8-12-104)

• What exemptions can be requested. An employer, a minor (or their parent or guardian), or a school official or youth employment specialist may ask the Division for an exemption from certain CYEOA limits:

An exemption <i>may:</i>	An exemption <i>may not:</i>
✓ allow duties ordinarily requiring a higher minimum age	X waive <b>school work release</b> permit requirements
✓ allow longer hours than ordinarily allowed for the minor's age	X <b>conflict with federal</b> law (on duties, hours, etc.), if federal law applies to the work

- How exemptions are evaluated. With a focus on "the best interests of the minor involved" (C.R.S. 8-12-104(3)), exemptions are evaluated case by case, based on the facts required to be submitted (below).
- **How to request an exemption.** Complete the Youth Law Exemption Form on the <u>Youth Law page</u>, which asks for details of the job, which limit(s) exemption is sought from (e.g., duties or hours limits), and why the employer believes the quantity and type of work is safe and appropriate for the minor. Submit the completed form by email (cdle\_labor\_standards@state.co.us), fax (303-318-8400), or mail (address above).
- **Multiple minors** may be included in one request, as long as all required information is detailed for **each**.
  - o If an employer has an exemption, then wants to employ *another* minor, it must submit another request, *but*: If the job and duties are the same, it can refer to the prior request, adding details on the new minor.
- Submit requests in advance of the work, by several weeks or longer. The Division aims to respond in 14 days, but may need longer if many requests arrive in a busy period, if more information is required, etc.
  - Exemptions apply to only the individuals, duties, hours, and conditions specifically described in the request. A new request is required for any different individuals, or if duties, hours, or conditions change.

## **COMPLAINTS OF VIOLATIONS (C.R.S. 8-12-115)**

- The Division investigates complaints of CYEOA violations, e.g., hours or duties disallowed for the age.
  - After receiving a complaint that it determines requires investigation, the Division sends the employer the allegations, educational information on youth employment, and any document or information requests.
  - After reviewing the employer's response, and any relevant documents or other information from any source, the Division determines whether violations occurred.
  - If the Division finds a violation, it may issue an order to cease the violation and assess non-compliance fines, depending on the violation type and scope, and the promptness of any redress by the employer.
- Submit complaints on the Youth Law Complaint Form on the Division <u>Youth Law page</u>, by email (<u>cdle labor standards@state.co.us</u>), fax (303-318-8400), or mail (address above).
  - Submit complaints about *other* labor violations affecting minors (wages, breaks, paid sick, etc.), on the Labor Standards Complaint Form on the Division <u>Demands, Complaints, & Responses page</u>.
  - o For violations of both *youth law and any other* labor law(s), submit *both* kinds of complaints.

## REMEDIES FOR INJURIES (C.R.S. 8-12-117)

- The Workers' Compensation Act and <u>Division of Workers' Compensation</u> cover all employed minors.
- As of July 1, 2023, minors also may seek remedies in litigation if injured during: (a) work prohibited by the CYEOA; or (b) a week in which an employer intentionally required hours prohibited by the CYEOA. Work is not prohibited by the CYEOA (and litigation therefore isn't available for injuries) if:
  - the work was allowed by an exemption from this Division allowing the work (or allowing extra hours);
  - the work was in an apprenticeship approved by Colorado's State Apprenticeship Agency;
  - the work was in an approved student-learner occupational education program.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>16</sup> CYEOA hours limits still apply to approved apprentices or student-learners, unless an exemption (or school release permit) allows broader work hours.

#### TYPES OF WORK ALLOWED AND PROHIBITED BY AGE

• Below are lists of work permitted by age, except: permitted work can't include other duties *not* permitted.

**Example 2:** At age 14, restaurant work is permitted, but using not certain power-driven food preparation devices. So a restaurant can employ a 14-year-old, but not to work with disallowed devices.

- Federal and Colorado limits:
  - <u>Below age 16</u>: Federal law allows almost no work below age 14, and a limited range at ages 14-15.
     That means that of the work Colorado law allows below age 16, most is allowed only if federal law doesn't apply mainly at very small employers (see page 1 on coverage).
  - At ages 16-17: Colorado allows most work at age 14, but federal law allows a broad range of work only at ages 16-17. That means that in Colorado, most work is allowed at ages 16-17 unless Colorado or federal law declares it "hazardous" (see below), and subject to hours limits for minors (see above).
- The following work with age-restricted substances is prohibited for any minors:<sup>17</sup>
  - Selling, dispensing, or serving alcoholic beverages, except minors can bus tables or handle empty alcoholic beverage containers. (Colorado Liquor Rules, 1 CCR 203-2, Reg. 47-913.)
  - Working in the **marijuana industry**. (C.R.S. 44-10-307(1)(d).)
- For more detail on each item below:
  - for Colorado law, see <u>CYEOA sections 104-110;</u>
  - o for federal law, see Child Labor Bulletin 101 (nonagricultural work) and 102 (agricultural work).

Age	Allowed by Colorado Law (CYEOA)	Allowed by Federal Law*  *Note: If federal law doesn't apply to the work (see p.1), no federal limits apply.
Any age	<ul> <li>Actors, performers, and models<sup>18</sup></li> <li>School work and supervised educational activities</li> <li>Home chores/work for parent who isn't paid for the work</li> <li>Newspaper carriers</li> </ul>	No work below age 14, except the following are allowed at any age:  Newspaper delivery
Age 9+	<ul> <li>Delivery of handbills, advertising, and advertising samples</li> <li>Shoeshining</li> <li>Gardening and lawn care with no power-driven lawn equipment</li> <li>Cleaning of walks with no power-driven snow-removal equipment</li> <li>Casual work at the employer's home not otherwise prohibited</li> <li>Caddying on golf courses</li> <li>Work similar to any of the above</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Non-hazardous duties for a business owned 100% by the minor's parent or guardian (but not mining or manufacturing until 16)</li> <li>Actors and performers</li> <li>Homeworkers making wreaths</li> </ul>
Age 12+	<ul> <li>Baby-sitting</li> <li>Agricultural work not declared "hazardous" by federal law</li> <li>Selling and delivering periodicals</li> <li>Door-to-door selling and delivering merchandise</li> <li>Gardening, lawn care, and cleaning walks, including power-driven equipment for snow removal or (with Division-approved equipment or training) lawns</li> <li>Work similar to any of the above</li> </ul>	Non-hazardous agricultural work <i>if</i> parents or guardians are employed at the farm <i>or</i> give written consent

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>17</sup> For more information, contact the Marijuana Enforcement Division (303-866-3330), or Liquor/Tobacco Enforcement Division (303-205-2300), of the Colorado Department of Revenue.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>18</sup> While *Colorado* law exempts "models" along with "actors" and "performers" from age limits (C.R.S. 8-12-104), *federal* law permits certain "modeling" only at 14. See 29 C.F.R. 570.34(1)(b),(d) allowing "intellectual or "artistically creative" work and "[c]ashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising departments, window trimming, and comparative shopping"). For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.

Age	Allowed by Colorado Law	Allowed by Federal Law*  *Note: If federal law doesn't apply to the work (see p.1), no federal limits apply		
	<u> </u>			
	<ul> <li>Work permitted by both Colorado and federal law:</li> <li>Office and clerical work, including operating office equipment</li> <li>Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, and public transport</li> <li>Janitorial and custodial work including the operation of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers</li> <li>Cooking with electric or gas grills, or deep fryers with automatically raising/lowering baskets</li> <li>Kitchen and other food or beverage preparation or service work (including operating devices); cleaning kitchen equipment; handling oil up to 100°F; and occasionally and briefly entering freezers to restock or prepare food</li> <li>Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and stocking items, including vegetables, fruits, and meats, in areas physically separate from a freezer or meat cooler</li> <li>Loading/unloading on motor vehicles the following items that the minor will use at work: light, non-power-driven hand tools; personal protective gear; or other personal items</li> <li>Work in gasoline service establishments, including dispensing gasoline, oil, and other consumer items; courtesy service car cleaning, washing, and polishing</li> <li>Work in stores: cashiering, selling, modeling, artwork, advertising work, window trimming, comparative shopping</li> <li>Bagging and carrying out customer orders; price marking or tagging; assembling orders; packing and shelving</li> <li>At 15, lifeguarding at pools or water parks, but not natural water bodies (river, lake, etc.) until age 16</li> </ul>			
	• Intellectual or artistically creative work (ex: programming, music, visual arts, teaching/tutoring, peer counseling) <sup>19</sup>			
	Work permitted by Colorado law, in addition to the above:	<ul> <li>Work permitted by federal law, in addition to the above:</li> <li>Other cleanup work, and maintenance of grounds</li> </ul>		
	Public messenger service work	Employment at inside and outside places where machinery processes wood		
Age	Warehousing, storage and other vehicle loading/unloading	products, for certain school-exempt minors meeting federal requirements		
14+	Other retail store, retail food	<ul> <li>Certain work riding inside passenger compartments of motor vehicles</li> <li>Non-hazardous agricultural work<sup>20</sup></li> </ul>		
	<ul><li>service, or restaurant work</li><li>Hotel, motel, or other public</li></ul>	Disallowed duties at ages 14-15, even in otherwise permitted jobs:		
	accommodations work	Construction, manufacturing, mining, processing, or boiler/engine room work		
	<ul> <li>except not operating power</li> </ul>	Work using power-driven machinery or a hoisting apparatus		
	food slicers and grinders  • Parks or recreation work	Other baking or cooking, or food service work that is either:		
	<ul> <li>Non-hazardous manufacturing,</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>In freezers, in meat coolers, or otherwise preparing meat for sale</li> <li>Using power food slicers, grinders, or equipment such as</li> </ul>		
	construction, or repair work	rotisseries, broilers, or fryolators		
	<ul> <li>In gasoline service: changing tires; supervised use of hoists</li> </ul>	The following motor vehicle work:		
	except not inflating or changing tires mounted on rims with removable retaining rings	Operating, riding or serving as a helper on, or motor vehicles		
		Loading or unloading items on motor vehicles, rail cars, or conveyors  Car or truck work using pite, racks, or a lifting apparatus, or inflating or		
		<ul> <li>Car or truck work using pits, racks, or a lifting apparatus, or inflating or changing tires mounted on rims with removable retaining rings</li> </ul>		
	Operating automatic enclosed	Transportation of persons or property		
	freight or passenger elevators	<ul> <li>Warehousing and storage</li> </ul>		
	Other similar work	Work on a ladder, scaffold, or similar item, or a window sill washing windows		
		Youth peddling with offsite sales (customer home/office, public places, etc.)  Catalying and ecoping poultry in propagation for transport or for market.		
		<ul><li>Catching and cooping poultry in preparation for transport or for market.</li><li>Communications and public utilities</li></ul>		
		- Public messenger service work		
Age 16+	Using a motor vehicle that the minor is licensed to operate	<ul> <li>At 17, limited non-hazardous (see list below) daytime driving on public roads</li> <li>Lifeguarding at natural bodies of water</li> </ul>		
		All other non-hazardous work, and all agricultural work		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>19</sup> Permitted expressly by federal law, and implicitly by CYEOA sections permitting a range of similar white-collar and non-manual work, *e.g.*, not only "[o]ffice ... and clerical work, including the operation of office equipment," but also "[a]ny other occupation which is similar to those enumerated" and "not specifically prohibited." <u>C.R.S. 8-12-108(e).(m)</u>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>20</sup> Hazardous work in agriculture, and available exemptions, are detailed in Child Labor Bulletin 102.

## HAZARDOUS WORK (C.R.S. 8-12-110)

Colorado and federal law **prohibit** minors from the following "hazardous" work<sup>21</sup> **except** (as detailed below):

- (A) in an qualifying apprenticeship or educational program (see p.7) or
- (B) if granted an **exemption** from work disallowed as hazardous by only **Colorado** law (see p. 3).
  - I. Declared Hazardous by Federal law, in a "Hazardous Occupations Order" ("HO")\*

    \*Note: If federal law doesn't apply to the work (see p.1), no federal limits apply.

## Work that may be exempt under federal law, if in a qualifying program (see p.7), as of age 16:

- Roofing (HO 16) or excavation (HO 17)\*
- Slaughter of livestock, and rendering and packaging of meat (HO 10)\*
- Operating various power-driven machines (HO 5, 8, 10, 12, & 14)<sup>22</sup>

#### Work that has no federal exemptions:

- Manufacturing, transporting, or storing explosives (HO 1)\*
- Manufacturing brick, clay construction, or silica refractory products (HO 13)\*
- Mining (including coal), logging, oil drilling, quarrying, wrecking, or demolition (HO 3, 4, 9, 15)\*
- Any work with exposure to radioactive substances or ionizing radiation (HO 6)\*
- Driving or work as an outside helper on a motor vehicle on public roads, or at a mine, logging, or excavation site, except limited public road driving at age 17 (HO 2)<sup>23</sup> (Colorado law allows operating motor vehicles at 16+)
- Operating a power-driven bakery (HO 11) or hoisting machine, including a forklift (HO 7)
- Forest fire fighting/prevention, forestry, sawmill/timber tract (HO 4)<sup>24</sup>
  - \* Also declared hazardous under Colorado law

## II. Declared Hazardous by Colorado law only

(C.R.S. 8-12-110)

- Operating high-pressure/temperature boilers, automatic pin-setters, or power-driven machines that the Division deems hazardous
- Other work with risk of falling from 10 feet or more (20 feet in agriculture)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>21</sup> This list does not detail hazardous agricultural work prohibited, or exempt, under 16 - see Child Labor Bulletin 102.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>22</sup> Power-driven machines for: woodworking (HO 5);\* metal-forming/punching/shearing (HO 8);\* paper processing\*, balers, or compactors (HO 12); meat-processing, or food slicing/grinding (HO 10); sawing and wood chipping (HO 14).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>23</sup> A licensed driver at 17 may drive only (a) occasionally and incidentally, (b) in daylight, (c) a car or truck (not a motorcycle, bus, ATV, etc.), and (d) without certain duties (towing, certain deliveries, etc.); see HO 2 in the Child Labor Bulletin 101.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>24</sup> The sawmill prohibition doesn't apply to certain schooling-exempt minors as of 14; see Child Labor Bulletin 101, HO 4.

## HAZARDOUS WORK ALLOWED IN QUALIFYING PROGRAMS (C.R.S. 8-12-110(1)<sup>25</sup>)

- Work Colorado law declares hazardous is allowed at age 14,26 with no need for an exemption, if either:
  - (A) after, or incidental to (part of), a program of
    - (1) **apprentice training** approved by, and registered with, Colorado's State Apprenticeship Agency<sup>27</sup> or USDOL (typically for national programs), as of age 16,<sup>28</sup> or
    - (2) student-learner occupational education, through a qualifying school or program;<sup>29</sup> or
  - (B) after
    - (1) training approved by the state board for community colleges and occupational education, or
    - (2) an **out of state occupational education** program the Division determines is comparable.
- Work federal law declares hazardous is allowed only:
  - at age 16-17; and
  - in a qualifying program of
    - **apprenticeships** in a recognized trade approved by, and registered with, USDOL or Colorado's State Apprenticeship Agency (which may consider apprenticeships in certain hazardous work), or
    - **student learning** in a course of study and training in a cooperative training program under a recognized State or local educational authority or similar private school program; and
  - under certain work conditions (training, safety, supervision, limited hours, etc.) under federal law.
- How to determine whether a minor can perform hazardous work:
  - Step 1: Is the work covered by federal law?
    - $\rightarrow$  If **yes**, go to Step 2. If **no**, go to Step 4.
  - **Step 2:** Is the work listed as hazardous under federal law?
    - $\rightarrow$  If **yes**, go to Step 3. If **no**, go to Step 4.
  - **Step 3:** Is the work under a federally approved apprenticeship or student-learning program?
    - → If **yes**, go to Step 4. If **no**, the work isn't allowed.
  - **Step 4:** Is the work listed as hazardous under Colorado law?
    - $\rightarrow$  If **yes**, go to Step 5. If **no**, the work is allowed, other than any age-limited duties (see pp.4-5).
  - Step 5: Is it in a qualifying apprentice, student-learner, or occupational program under state law?
    - $\rightarrow$  If **yes**, the work is allowed. If **no**, the work isn't allowed, unless exemption is sought (see p.3).

<u>For More Information</u>: Visit the Division <u>website</u>, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle\_labor\_standards@state.co.us. For federal law, see <u>Child Labor Bulletin 101</u>, visit <u>www.dol.gov</u>, or call 866-4USWAGE.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>25</sup> For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>26</sup> While state law allows exemption at 14, the Division would not grant an exemption for work covered by federal law, because federal law prohibits such work before that age.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>27</sup> Visit Apprenticeship Colorado (<u>apprenticeship.colorado.gov</u>), Colorado's State Apprenticeship Agency as of July 1, 2023, for resources such as: an apprenticeship program directory; apprenticeship postings; information for employers interested in apprenticeships; and contact information for questions. See C.R.S. Title 8, Article 15.7 (apprenticeship law).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>28</sup> See C.R.S. 8-15.7-101 (defining apprentice as someone 16 or older, unless other law sets higher age). For a minor age 16-17, approval of a registered apprenticeship by Colorado's State Apprenticeship Agency, which can approve work Colorado law deems hazardous, means the work is permitted by the CYEOA, subject to applicable hours limits for minors.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>29</sup> C.R.S. 8-12-110(1)(b) ("a public school, local district college, community and technical college, federally funded work-training program, or private occupational school approved by the private occupational school division").