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Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion (“INFO”) #22
Employment of Minors in Colorado

OVERVIEW

● This INFO covers what types of work, hours, and pay are allowed for those under age 18, under:

○ the Colorado Youth Employment Opportunity Act (“CYEOA”), C.R.S. Title 8, Article 12; and

○ the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”).1

● For information on:

○ federal law on minors, see the U.S. Department of Labor (“USDOL”) Child Labor Bulletin 101;2 or

○ other Colorado labor laws covering minors and adults alike, see the INFOs on each topic.3

COVERAGE OF FEDERAL AND STATE LAW

● Colorado law covers employees and independent contractors performing any work that must be paid.4

○ Exceptions: minors with a high school diploma/GED; news delivery; work for parents/guardians that the
parents/guardians aren’t paid for; home chores; and school work or activities.

● Federal law covers work for either (1) employers with annual revenue of at least $500,000, (2) hospitals,
schools, or care facilities, (3) government agencies, or (4) any job participating in interstate commerce.5

○ Examples of what federal coverage excludes:

- paying an individual for in-home, non-revenue-generating work — babysitting, cleaning, etc.; or

- businesses with under $500,000 in revenue — a pretzel cart, a hat kiosk in a mall, etc.6

○ Exceptions: news delivery; non-hazardous work for parents’ business;7 performing; home wreath-making.

● Apply whichever is stricter if both federal and Colorado law apply. Examples:

○ Federal law has a stricter age minimum (16) for certain tasks, like manufacturing, than Colorado (14).

🠆 Apply the stricter standard: 16 is the minimum for manufacturing work in Colorado.

○ Colorado has a stricter age minimum (18) for weeks over 40 hours, or days over 8, than federal law (16).

🠆 Apply the stricter standard: 18 is the minimum for weeks over 40 hours, or days over 8, in Colorado.8

8 “Federal Child Labor Provisions Do Not: . . . limit the number of hours or times of day that workers 16 years of age or
older may legally work, though many states do . . . .” Child Labor Bulletin 101, p.2.

7 Parents (or guardians) must be 100% owners, and mining/manufacturing is allowed only at 16. 29 C.F.R. 570.2(a)(2).

6 Except: employees buying supplies from out of state suppliers may be covered as “participating in interstate commerce.”

5 For #4, an employee must directly participate in interstate commerce, not just use items that moved interstate.

4 Covered “[e]mployment” is any work for ”money or other ... consideration, whether paid to the minor or to some other
person, including ... as a servant, agent, subagent, or independent contractor.” C.R.S. 8-12-103(4) (emphasis added).

3 E.g., INFOs #1 (wage/hour basics), 2 (complaints), 4 (breaks), 6 (paid sick leave), 20 (“time worked” that must be paid).

2 USDOL Wage & Hour Division, Child Labor Bulletin 101, “Child Labor Provisions for Nonagricultural Occupations under
the Fair Labor Standards Act,” WH1330 (2016). This INFO details less on federal agriculture rules; see Child Labor Bulletin
102, “Child Labor Requirements in Agricultural Occupations under the Fair Labor Standards Act,” WH1295 (2016).

1 U.S.C. Title 29, Chapter 8; see also FLSA regulations, including C.F.R. Title 29, Parts 570–579.
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WORK HOUR RESTRICTIONS (C.R.S. 8-12-105; 29 C.F.R. 570.35)

● Minors of Any Age: At most 40 hours per week, and 8 hours in any 24-hour period.9

● Under Age 16:
○ Nights/mornings: - no work from 7:00 pm (or 9:00 pm from June 1 to Labor Day) to 7:00 am10

○ School days: - during school hours, no work, except with approval (detailed below)
- outside school hours but on school days, 3 hours maximum (including Friday)11

○ School weeks: - 18 hours maximum in weeks with any school days

WORK & SCHOOL RELEASE PERMITS, & AGE CERTIFICATES (C.R.S. 8-12-111, 113)

● No work permit is required — but school-hours work isn’t permitted before age 14, and at ages 14-15:

(1) If federal law applies (see p.1), then federal law allows school-hours work only under a
USDOL-approved work experience, career exploration, or work-study program, with other
requirements, including school and parent agreement.12

(2) If federal law is inapplicable, or allows the work: Colorado requires a school release permit that a
school can issue, for up to 30 days, based on a minor’s best interests, with parent approval, employer
confirmation of non-hazardous duty, and 3 class hours generally still required.13

● Age Certificate: To confirm that a minor is old enough for a specific job, an employer may, but doesn’t
need to, ask the minor for an age certificate, issued by the school or county where they live.14

MINIMUM WAGES FOR MINORS (C.R.S. 8-6-108.5(1))

● Minimum wages adjust annually for inflation, and are posted on www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov.

● Colorado minimum wage: Employers can pay most minors 85% of full Colorado minimum wage — for
example, in 2023, $11.61 rather than the full $13.65 minimum — except:

○ Only “non-emancipated” minors, not “emancipated”15 minors, can be paid the 85% minimum.

○ A tip credit of up to $3.02 per hour may be applied to the minor minimum wage, making the 2023
Colorado minimum for a tipped minor $8.59 — if all tip requirements (see the INFO #3 series) are met.

○ Underpaid minors are owed full minimum wage. Paying 85% of the full minimum is just an option
employers “may” choose, not a requirement to reduce minors’ pay. An employer paying less than 85%
of the full minimum hasn’t lawfully taken advantage of that option, so it owes the full minimum.

Example 1: A 14-year old worked for $8.65 per hour for 10 hours in 2023. The employer could’ve
offered and paid 85% of the full minimum ($11.61 per hour), but didn’t. So the minor is owed $50.00 in
unpaid wages: $5.00 for each of the 10 hours paid only $8.65, rather than the full $13.65 minimum.

● Higher local minimum wages: Employers must pay any local minimum wage above Colorado’s, such as
in Denver — which allows the reduction to 85% for only city-certified youth employment program work.

15 Minors who: self-support; are married living away from parents; or depend on work for well-being. C.R.S. § 8-6-108.5.

14 An employer must keep certificates available for Division review, and return them to minors when jobs end. Certificate
information includes: name, address, birth date, and description of minor; date issued; issuing officer name and position;
and the evidence accepted as age proof (birth certificate, passport, etc.). C.R.S. 8-12-112.

13 See C.R.S. 8-12-113(2) for the other details required. Also, the permit must be issued by a board of education or
superintendent, or a person they designate, and the 3-hour class requirement can be waived for “extreme hardship.”

12 29 C.F.R. §§ 570.36–37. For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.

11 If state but not federal law applies, the CYEOA limit is: at most 6 hours per day, unless the next day isn’t a school day.

10 If state but not federal law applies, the CYEOA limit is: no 9:30 pm - 5:00 am work before school days, except babysitting.

9 Exceptions to these hours limits: (1) during an emergency the Division authorizes; and (2) in seasonal, piece-rate,
harvest work, up to 12 hours per 24 hours, and 30 per hours 72 hours, as of age 14 — except only 10 days of over 8
hours in of a 30-day period at ages 14-15. Also, overtime pay is required after 40 hours weekly or 12 daily (see INFO #1).
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EXEMPTION REQUESTS (C.R.S. 8-12-104)

● What exemptions can be requested. An employer, a minor (or their parent or guardian), or a school
official or youth employment specialist may ask the Division for an exemption from certain CYEOA limits:

An exemption may: An exemption may not:

✓allow duties ordinarily requiring a
higher minimum age

X waive school work release permit
requirements

✓allow longer hours than ordinarily
allowed for the minor’s age

X conflict with federal law (on duties, hours,
etc.), if federal law applies to the work

● How exemptions are evaluated. With a focus on “the best interests of the minor involved” (C.R.S.
8-12-104(3)), exemptions are evaluated case by case, based on the facts required to be submitted (below).

● How to request an exemption. Complete the Youth Law Exemption Form on the Youth Law page, which
asks for details of the job, which limit(s) exemption is sought from (e.g., duties or hours limits), and why the
employer believes the quantity and type of work is safe and appropriate for the minor. Submit the
completed form by email (cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us), fax (303-318-8400), or mail (address above).

● Multiple minors may be included in one request, as long as all required information is detailed for each.

○ If an employer has an exemption, then wants to employ another minor, it must submit another request,
but: If the job and duties are the same, it can refer to the prior request, adding details on the new minor.

● Submit requests in advance of the work, by several weeks or longer. The Division aims to respond in 14
days, but may need longer if many requests arrive in a busy period, if more information is required, etc.

○ Exemptions apply to only the individuals, duties, hours, and conditions specifically described in the
request. A new request is required for any different individuals, or if duties, hours, or conditions change.

COMPLAINTS OF VIOLATIONS (C.R.S. 8-12-115)

● The Division investigates complaints of CYEOA violations, e.g., hours or duties disallowed for the age.

○ After receiving a complaint that it determines requires investigation, the Division sends the employer the
allegations, educational information on youth employment, and any document or information requests.

○ After reviewing the employer’s response, and any relevant documents or other information from any
source, the Division determines whether violations occurred.

○ If the Division finds a violation, it may issue an order to cease the violation and assess non-compliance
fines, depending on the violation type and scope, and the promptness of any redress by the employer.

● Submit complaints on the Youth Law Complaint Form on the Division Youth Law page, by email
(cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us), fax (303-318-8400), or mail (address above).

○ Submit complaints about other labor violations affecting minors (wages, breaks, paid sick, etc.), on the
Labor Standards Complaint Form on the Division Demands, Complaints, & Responses page.

○ For violations of both youth law and any other labor law(s), submit both kinds of complaints.
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TYPES OF WORK ALLOWED AND PROHIBITED BY AGE

● Below are lists of work permitted by age, except: permitted work can’t include other duties not permitted.

Example 2: At age 14, restaurant work is permitted, but using not certain power-driven food
preparation devices. So a restaurant can employ a 14-year-old, but not to work with disallowed devices.

● Federal versus Colorado limits:

○ While Colorado law allows some work below 14, and a broader range at 14-15: federal law allows
almost no work below age 14, and a limited range at 14-15.

○ That means that of the work Colorado law allows below age 16, most is allowed only if federal law
doesn’t apply — mainly, for very small employers (see page 1 on coverage).

● The following work with age-restricted substances is prohibited for any minors:16

○ Selling, dispensing, or serving alcoholic beverages, except minors can bus tables or handle empty
alcoholic beverage containers. (Colorado Liquor Rules, 1 CCR 203-2, Reg. 47-913.)

○ Working in the marijuana industry. (C.R.S. 44-10-307(1)(d)).

● For more detail on each item below:

○ for Colorado law, see CYEOA sections 104-110

○ for federal law, see Child Labor Bulletin 101 (nonagricultural work) and 102 (agricultural work).

Age Allowed by Colorado Law
(CYEOA)

Allowed by Federal Law*
*Note: If federal law doesn’t apply to the
work (see p.1), no federal limits apply.

Any
age

● Actors, performers, and models17

● School work and supervised educational activities
● Home chores/work for parent who isn’t paid for the work
● Newspaper carriers

No work below age 14, except the
following are allowed at any age:
● Newspaper delivery
● Non-hazardous duties for a business
owned 100% by the minor’s parent or
guardian (but not mining or
manufacturing until 16)

● Actors and performers
● Homeworkers making wreaths

Age
9+

● Delivery of handbills, advertising, and advertising samples
● Shoeshining
● Gardening and lawn care with no power-driven lawn equipment
● Cleaning of walks with no power-driven snow-removal equipment
● Casual work at the employer’s home not otherwise prohibited
● Caddying on golf courses
● Work similar to any of the above

Age
12+

● Baby-sitting
● Agricultural work not declared “hazardous” by federal law
● Selling and delivering periodicals
● Door-to-door selling and delivering merchandise
● Gardening, lawn care, and cleaning walks, including power-driven
equipment for snow removal or (with Division-approved equipment
or training) lawns

● Work similar to any of the above

● Non-hazardous agricultural work if
parents or guardians are employed at
the farm or give written consent

17 While Colorado law exempts “models” along with “actors” and “performers” from age limits (C.R.S. 8-12-104), federal
law permits certain “modeling” only at 14. See 29 C.F.R. 570.34(1)(b),(d) allowing “intellectual or “artistically creative” work
and “[c]ashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising departments, window trimming, and comparative
shopping”). For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.

16 For more information, contact the Marijuana Enforcement Division (303-866-3330), or Liquor/Tobacco Enforcement
Division (303-205-2300), of the Colorado Department of Revenue.
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Age Allowed by Colorado Law
(CYEOA)

Allowed by Federal Law*
*Note: If federal law doesn’t apply to the work (see p.1), no federal limits apply

Age
14+

Work permitted by both Colorado and federal law:
● Office and clerical work, including operating office equipment
● Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, and public transport
● Janitorial and custodial work including the operation of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers
● Cooking with electric or gas grills, or deep fryers with automatically raising/lowering baskets
● Kitchen and other food or beverage preparation or service work (including operating devices); cleaning kitchen
equipment; handling oil up to 100°F; and occasionally and briefly entering freezers to restock or prepare food

● Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and stocking items, including
vegetables, fruits, and meats, in areas physically separate from a freezer or meat cooler

● Loading/unloading on motor vehicles the following items that the minor will use at work: light, non-power-driven
hand tools; personal protective gear; or other personal items

● Work in gasoline service establishments, including dispensing gasoline, oil, and other consumer items; courtesy
service car cleaning, washing, and polishing

● Work in stores: cashiering, selling, modeling, artwork, advertising work, window trimming, comparative shopping
● Bagging and carrying out customer orders; price marking or tagging; assembling orders; packing and shelving
● At 15, lifeguarding at pools or water parks, but not natural water bodies (river, lake, etc.) until age 16
● Intellectual or artistically creative work (ex: programming, music, visual arts, teaching/tutoring, peer counseling)18

Work permitted by Colorado
law, in addition to the above:
● Public messenger service work
● Warehousing, storage and
other vehicle loading/unloading

● Other retail store, retail food
service, or restaurant work

● Hotel, motel, or other public
accommodations work
– except not operating power
food slicers and grinders

● Parks or recreation work
● Non-hazardous manufacturing,
construction, or repair work

● In gasoline service: changing
tires; supervised use of hoists
– except not inflating or
changing tires mounted on
rims with removable
retaining rings

● Operating automatic enclosed
freight or passenger elevators

● Other similar work

Work permitted by federal law, in addition to the above:
● Other cleanup work, and maintenance of grounds
● Employment at inside and outside places where machinery processes wood
products, for certain school-exempt minors meeting federal requirements

● Certain work riding inside passenger compartments of motor vehicles
● Non-hazardous agricultural work19

Disallowed duties at ages 14-15, even in otherwise permitted jobs:
– Construction, manufacturing, mining, processing, or boiler/engine room work
– Work using power-driven machinery or a hoisting apparatus
– Other baking or cooking, or food service work that is either:

– In freezers, in meat coolers, or otherwise preparing meat for sale
– Using power food slicers, grinders, or equipment such as
rotisseries, broilers, or fryolators

– The following motor vehicle work:
– Operating, riding or serving as a helper on, or motor vehicles
– Loading or unloading items on motor vehicles, rail cars, or conveyors
– Car or truck work using pits, racks, or a lifting apparatus, or inflating or
changing tires mounted on rims with removable retaining rings

– Transportation of persons or property
– Warehousing and storage
– Work on a ladder, scaffold, or similar item, or a window sill washing windows
– Youth peddling with offsite sales (customer home/office, public places, etc.)
– Catching and cooping poultry in preparation for transport or for market.
– Communications and public utilities
– Public messenger service work

Age
16+

● Using a motor vehicle that the
minor is licensed to operate

● At 17, limited non-hazardous (see list below) daytime driving on public roads
● Lifeguarding at natural bodies of water
● All other non-hazardous work, and all agricultural work

19 Hazardous work in agriculture, and available exemptions, are detailed in Child Labor Bulletin 102.

18 Permitted expressly by federal law, and implicitly by CYEOA sections permitting a range of similar white-collar and
non-manual work, e.g., not only “[o]ffice ... and clerical work, including the operation of office equipment,” but also “[a]ny
other occupation which is similar to those enumerated” and “not specifically prohibited.” C.R.S. 8-12-108(e),(m).
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HAZARDOUS WORK (C.R.S. 8-12-110)

Colorado and federal law prohibit minors from the following “hazardous” work20 except (as detailed below):

(A) in an qualifying apprenticeship or educational program (see p.7) or

(B) if granted an exemption from work disallowed as hazardous by only Colorado law (see p. 3).

I. Declared Hazardous by Federal law, in a “Hazardous Occupations Order” (“HO”)*
*Note: If federal law doesn’t apply to the work (see p.1), no federal limits apply.

Work that may be exempt under federal law, if in a qualifying program (see p.7), as of age 16:

● Roofing (HO 16) or excavation (HO 17)*
● Slaughter of livestock, and rendering and packaging of meat (HO 10)*
● Operating various power-driven machines (HO 5, 8, 10, 12, & 14)21

Work that has no federal exemptions:

● Manufacturing, transporting, or storing explosives (HO 1)*
● Manufacturing brick, clay construction, or silica refractory products (HO 13)*
● Mining (including coal), logging, oil drilling, quarrying, wrecking, or demolition (HO 3, 4, 9, 15)*
● Any work with exposure to radioactive substances or ionizing radiation (HO 6)*
● Driving or work as an outside helper on a motor vehicle on public roads, or at a mine, logging, or excavation site,

except limited public road driving at age 17 (HO 2)22 (Colorado law allows operating motor vehicles at 16+)
● Operating a power-driven bakery (HO 11) or hoisting machine, including a forklift (HO 7)
● Forest fire fighting/prevention, forestry, sawmill/timber tract (HO 4)23

* Also declared hazardous under Colorado law

II. Declared Hazardous by Colorado law only
(C.R.S. 8-12-110)

● Operating high-pressure/temperature boilers, automatic pin-setters, or power-driven machines that the Division
deems hazardous

● Other work with risk of falling from 10 feet or more (20 feet in agriculture)

23 The sawmill prohibition doesn’t apply to certain schooling-exempt minors as of 14; see Child Labor Bulletin 101, HO 4.

22 A licensed driver at 17 may drive only (a) occasionally and incidentally, (b) in daylight, (c) a car or truck (not a motorcycle,
bus, ATV, etc.), and (d) without certain duties (towing, certain deliveries, etc.); see HO 2 in the Child Labor Bulletin 101.

21 Power-driven machines for: woodworking (HO 5);* metal-forming/punching/shearing (HO 8);* paper processing*, balers,
or compactors (HO 12); meat-processing, or food slicing/grinding (HO 10); sawing and wood chipping (HO 14).

20 This list does not detail hazardous agricultural work prohibited, or exempt, under 16 - see Child Labor Bulletin 102.
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HAZARDOUS WORK ALLOWED IN QUALIFYING PROGRAMS (C.R.S. 8-12-110(1)24)

● Work Colorado law declares hazardous is allowed at age 14,25 with no need for an exemption, if either:

(A) after, or incidental to (part of), a program of —

(1) apprentice training approved by, and registered with, Apprenticeship Colorado, Colorado’s
State Apprenticeship Agency26 or USDOL (typically for national programs), as of age 16,27 or

(2) student-learner occupational education, through a qualifying school or program;28 or

(B) after —

(1) training approved by the state board for community colleges and occupational education, or

(2) an out of state occupational education program the Division determines is comparable.

● Work federal law declares hazardous is allowed only:

○ at age 16-17; and

○ in a qualifying program —

- apprenticeships in a recognized trade that are approved by, and registered with, USDOL or
Apprenticeship Colorado, or

- student learning in a course of study and training in a cooperative training program under a
recognized State or local educational authority or similar private school program; and

○ under certain work conditions (training, safety, supervision, limited hours, etc.) under federal law.

● How to determine whether a minor can perform hazardous work:

Step 1: Is the work covered by federal law?
→ If yes, go to Step 2. If no, go to Step 4

Step 2: Is the work listed as hazardous under federal law?
→ If yes, go to Step 3. If no, go to Step 4

Step 3: Is the work under a federally approved apprenticeship or student-learning program?
→ If yes, go to Step 4. If no, the work isn’t allowed.

Step 4: Is the work listed as hazardous under Colorado law?
→ If yes, go to Step 5. If no, the work is allowed, other than any age-limited duties (see pp.4-5).

Step 5: Is it in a qualifying apprentice, student-learner, or occupational program under state law?
→ If yes, the work is allowed. If no, the work isn’t allowed, unless exemption is sought (see p.3).

For More Information: Visit the Division website, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us.
For federal law, see Child Labor Bulletin 101, visit www.dol.gov, or call 866-4USWAGE.

28 C.R.S. 8-12-110(1)(b) (“a public school, local district college, community and technical college, federally funded
work-training program, or private occupational school approved by the private occupational school division”).

27 See C.R.S. 8-15.7-101 (defining apprentice as someone 16 or older, unless other law sets higher age).

26 Visit Apprenticeship Colorado (apprenticeship.colorado.gov), Colorado’s state apprenticeship agency as of July 1,
2023, for resources such as: an apprenticeship program directory; apprenticeship postings; information for employers
interested in apprenticeships; and contact information for questions. See C.R.S. Title 8, Article 15.7 (apprenticeship law).

25 While state law allows exemption at 14, the Division would not grant an exemption for work covered by federal law,
because federal law prohibits such work before that age.

24 For details or more information on federal law, consult the USDOL or its materials.
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