

Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion ("INFO") #3:

Summary: "Wages" and "Compensation" under Colorado Wage Law

Overview: This INFO series explains how employers must pay employees all "wages or compensation" they earn, and keep certain records related to their wages and hours. This INFO #3 summarizes INFOs:

- #3A: Timing of Wage Payments, & Required Record-Keeping
- #3B: Permissible and Impermissible Methods of Payment
- #3C: Tips (Gratuities) and Tipped Employees Under Colorado Wage Law
- #3D: Commissions and Bonuses
- #3E: Payment of Earned Vacation upon Separation of Employment

Payment Timing and Record-Keeping Obligations (more detail in INFO #3A): an employer must:

- Timely pay wages owed to employees.
- Pay all wages owed upon an employee's separation.
- **Provide pay statements** to employees (and to the Division, upon request) and keep at least three years of wage records.

Definition of Protected "Wages" or "Compensation" (more detail in INFO #3B): Any earned, vested, and determinable amount owed to an employee for labor or service,¹ which includes:

- Hourly rates (for example, \$20.00 per hour)
- **Salaries** (for example, \$1,500.00 per week)
- **Per-task or per-piece payments** (for example, \$20.00 for each oil change completed)
- Bonuses or commissions earned under employer/employee agreements² (more detail in INFO #3D)
- Vacation pay remaining when the employment relationship ends³ (more detail in INFO #3E)
- Paid sick leave under the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act⁴ (more detail in the INFO #6 series)
- But not
 - Severance pay,⁵ or
 - A "profit-sharing plan, a pension plan, or other similar deferred compensation programs."⁶

Payment Methods (more detail in INFO #3B):

• An employer may pay wages with checks, cash, direct deposit, money orders, or similarly secure means — as long as employees have **free** and **on-demand access** to their **entire** net pay.

<u>Credits toward Wages Due</u> (more detail in INFO #3C (tips), and INFOs #1 (credits) & 16 (deductions)):

- The value of **certain non-money benefits (lodging and meals)** can count (or be "credited") towards minimum wages owed, with limits and conditions.
- Employers may credit **tips paid by customers** toward minimum wages owed with conditions and limits, mainly to assure tips aren't taken from tipped employees, and don't undercut minimum wages.

For More Information: Visit the Division <u>website</u>, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us.

¹ <u>C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(I)</u>.

² C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(II).

³ C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(III).

⁴ C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(IV) and §§ 8-13.3-401 to -418 (Healthy Families and Workplaces Act ("HFWA")).

⁵ C.R.S. § 8-4-101(14)(b).

⁶ C.R.S. <u>§ 8-4-103(3)</u>.

INFOs are not binding law, but are the officially approved Division opinions and notices on how it applies and interprets various statutes and rules. The Division continues to update and post new INFOs; email <u>cdle labor standards@state.co.us</u> with any suggestions. To be sure to reference up-to-date INFOs, rules, or other material, visit <u>ColoradoLaborLaw.gov</u>. Last updated July 11, 2023