303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LevesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

## KNOWLEDGE #1: Wage & Hour Rights for Employees in Colorado

Each <u>KNOWLEDGE</u> (<u>Kno</u>wledge for <u>W</u>orkers on <u>L</u>abor Law is <u>E</u>mpowering & <u>D</u>rives <u>G</u>ood <u>E</u>mployment) is not binding law, but is a summary of key labor rights, with more detail in each <u>INFO</u> (Interpretive <u>N</u>otice & <u>F</u>ormal <u>O</u>pinion).

| What PAY<br>Do I Have a  | Minimum Wage & Direct Care Rates                           | <ul> <li>\$13.65 per hour (\$11.61 for most minors) in 2023 (adjusted yearly) except:</li> <li>\$17.29 in Denver (our webpage will post any other local minimum wages)</li> <li>\$3.02 less can be paid to those with enough tips to reach the full minimum</li> </ul>   |
|--|--|--|
| * details in INFOs: INFO #1: key wage rules & who's covered by these rights INFO #3: what count as "wages" & how they must be paid INFO #5: deductions | Overtime Pay<br>("Time and a half")                        | One & a half times your regular rate after 40 hours a week, or 12 a day, except:  Certain exempt jobs require no (or less) overtime — examples:  Salaried workers with higher-level duties (supervisor, professional, etc.)  Some (not all) jobs in agriculture, health, trucking, sales, camps, ski, etc.   |
|  | Pay for all<br><b>Time Worked</b>                          | All time spent for the employer's benefit must be paid, including:  required time at any location, even just to wait (except some sleep time)  check-in/out (timeclock, screening, gear pickup, time in line) if over 1 minute  clothing/gear, setup/cleanup, or meeting/paperwork time outside shifts  travel between clients/offices, or special trips – but not regular commutes  |
| INFO #20: "time<br>worked" that must<br>be paid  | <b>Deductions</b> from Pay, or <b>Charges</b> to Employees | <ul> <li>Lodging: only if optional &amp; not for employer benefit (&amp; only \$25-100 weekly)</li> <li>Meals: only if optional (&amp; only at actual cost, with no profit)</li> <li>Uniform: only if ordinary clothes (with no special material or design)</li> <li>Not for: poor work quality, quitting without notice, or property cost</li> </ul>  |
| What Breaks<br>& Time Off<br>Do I Have a   | Rest Breaks (paid)  Meal Breaks (unpaid if duty-free)      | <ul> <li>10 minutes every 4 hours (or multiple 5-minute breaks, in some situations)</li> <li>duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace</li> <li>30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours</li> <li>duty-free &amp; free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, &amp; you're allowed to eat</li> </ul>   |
| Right to?*  * details in INFOs: INFO #4: breaks INFO #6: paid leave  | Paid Leave   | 1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs  ✓ for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care  ✓ when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working  ✓ due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment  ✓ bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23)  |
| When Do I  | Regular Paydays  | Employers must pay at least <b>monthly</b> , and post <b>notice</b> of paydays   |
| Have a Right to Be Paid?   | Departing<br>Employees' Pay                                | All <b>earned</b> pay: due the next payday (or immediately if terminated), including:  ✓ unused <b>vacation</b> pay, including <b>paid time off</b> that can used for vacation  X but not <b>sick</b> , bereavement, or other pay limited to <b>specific needs</b>   |
| Can an<br>Agreement<br>Take Away   | No:  | <ul> <li>No waiver, policy, or agreement (collective bargaining or individual) can allow:</li> <li>x paying below minimum wage, or not paying time-and-a-half overtime</li> <li>x not paying for any time that counts as "time worked"</li> <li>x never allowing breaks or sick leave, or making all leave unpaid</li> <li>x treating workers as "independent contractors" (or other kind of non-employee) without any of these rights, if the facts show they actually work as "employees"</li> </ul> |
| My Rights?   | But:   | What employers and employees <b>can agree to</b> is:  ✓ any <b>pay rate</b> (at least the minimum wage or direct care wage rate) ✓ any <b>schedule</b> or number of hours (with all required breaks) ✓ what if any <b>paid time off</b> is earned (other than required sick leave)   |
| How Can<br>I Protect<br>My Rights?   | What's Protected from Retaliation or Interference          | You have a right to <b>complain</b> of violations, or <b>assert</b> your rights:  ✓ as to <b>wages or hours</b> , including <b>breaks</b> and family/medical <b>leave</b> ✓ to <b>talk or organize</b> about work with others, <b>informally</b> or with a <b>union</b> ✓ against various unsafe or illegal <b>workplace conditions</b>  |
| * details in INFOs:  INFO #2: complaints & investigations INFO #5: retaliation   | File a Claim, or a<br>Confidential Tip                     | Report wage and hour (including breaks or leave) or retaliation violations as:  a complaint to the Division, or in court, or a confidential tip to the Division, by email or phone  Call or email the Division with any questions, in English or Spanish.  |