Division of Labor Standards and Statistics 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-2107

303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

KNOWLEDGE #3: Colorado Wage & Hour Rights for Construction Workers

Each <u>KNOWLEDGE</u> (<u>Kno</u>wledge for <u>W</u>orkers on <u>L</u>abor Law is <u>E</u>mpowering & <u>D</u>rives <u>G</u>ood <u>E</u>mployment) summarizes key labor rights, but is not binding law itself. Each <u>INFO</u> (<u>I</u>nterpretive <u>N</u>otice & <u>F</u>ormal <u>O</u>pinion) gives more detail on each topic.

iabor rights, but is not binding law itself. Each <u>INFO</u> (<u>I</u> nterpretive <u>N</u> otice & <u>F</u> ormal <u>O</u> pinion) gives more detail on each topic.		
	Minimum Wage	In 2023, \$13.65 (\$17.29 in Denver); in 2024, \$14.42 (\$18.29 in Denver) ■ The Division website posts all annual increases and local minimum wages
What PAY	Overtime Pay ("Time & a half")	1½ times the regular pay rate: required after 40 hours a week or 12 a day, ✓ including for those with non-hourly pay — salary, piece rate, etc., X except not for salaried supervisors or certain others with higher-level duties
Do I Have a Right to? details in INFOs:	Pay for all Time Worked	All time spent for the employer's benefit must be paid, including: required time at any location, even just to wait (except some sleep time) check-in/out – timeclock, screening, gear pickup, time in line, etc. clothing/gear, setup/cleanup, or meeting/paperwork time outside shifts travel between worksites/offices or special trips – but not usual commutes
#1: key wage rules, & who's covered by them #3: what counts as wages & how they must be paid #16: deductions #20: what time is paid	Deductions from Pay, or Charges to Employees	 Lodging: not if use is required; only if in writing; & at most \$25-\$100/week Meals: only if optional, & for a meal's fair value or actual cost without profit Uniforms: not if required; & employers can't charge for cleaning or wear/tear Equipment: not for items that are for employer benefit; not if the cost drops pay below minimum wage; & only if employees agree in writing Not for: poor work quality, quitting without notice, etc.
What BREAKS & TIME OFF	Rest Breaks (paid) Meal Breaks (unpaid if duty-free)	 10 minutes every 4 hours (or multiple 5-minute breaks, in some situations) duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours duty-free & free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, & you're allowed to eat
Do I Have a Right to? details in INFOs: #4: breaks #6: paid leave	Paid Leave	1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs: ✓ for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care ✓ when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working ✓ due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment ✓ bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23)
WHEN Do I Have a Right to Be Paid?	Regular Paydays Departing Employees' Pay	Employers must pay at least monthly , and post notice of paydays All earned pay: due the next payday (or immediately if terminated), including: unused vacation pay, including paid time off that can used for vacation to but not sick , bereavement, or other pay limited to specific needs
Can an AGREEMENT Take Away My Rights?	No:	No waiver, policy, or agreement (collective bargaining or individual) can allow: x not paying minimum wage, overtime, or for any "time worked" x disallowing breaks or sick leave, or making all leave unpaid x misclassifying employees as independent contractors — look to actual facts, not just what documents say (contract, 1099, etc.), such as: - does the hirer benefit like a customer (with limited control, often in specialty work) or an employer (with more control, often for its primary work)? and - does the worker benefit like an employee or like someone running an independent business not subject to employer control?
	But:	Employees and employers can agree to: ✓ any pay rate (at least the minimum wage or direct care wage rate) ✓ any schedule or number of hours (with all required breaks) ✓ what if any paid time off is earned (other than required sick leave)
How Can I PROTECT My Rights?	What's Protected from Retaliation or Interference	You have a right to complain of violations, or assert your rights: ✓ as to wages or hours , including breaks and family/medical leave ✓ to talk or organize about work with others, informally or with a union ✓ against various unsafe or illegal workplace conditions
details in INFOs: #2: complaints & investigations	File a Claim, or a Confidential Tip	Report violations as to wages or hours (including breaks or leave), or retaliation: ✓ as a complaint to the Division, or in court, or ✓ as a confidential tip to the Division, by email or phone Call or email the Division with any questions, in English or Spanish.