Division of Labor Standards and Statistics 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-2107

303-318-8441 | www.ColoradoLaborLaw.gov | www.LeyesLaboralesDeColorado.gov

KNOWLEDGE #4: Colorado Wage & Hour Rights for Food & Beverage Workers

Each <u>KNOWLEDGE</u> (<u>Kno</u>wledge for <u>W</u>orkers on <u>L</u>abor Law is <u>E</u>mpowering & <u>D</u>rives <u>G</u>ood <u>E</u>mployment) summarizes key labor rights, but is not binding law itself. Each <u>INFO</u> (<u>Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion</u>) gives more detail on each topic.

labor rights, but is not binding law itself. Each <u>INFO</u> (<u>I</u> nterpretive <u>N</u> otice & <u>F</u> ormal <u>O</u> pinion) gives more detail on each topic.		
	Minimum Wage	In 2024, \$14.42 , except higher in Denver (\$18.29) and some other local areas ■ The <u>Division website</u> posts all annual increases and local minimum wages
	Tip Credit toward Minimum Wage	Employers can pay up to \$3.02 under minimum wage (a "tip credit") if tips raise total pay to full minimum (and average at least \$1.64 hourly) — but not if they: * take away employee tips — for invalid tip pools, credit card fees, etc.; or * impose mandatory charges (like a 20% service charge), which aren't "tips"
	Payment of Tips	 Tips belong to the individual unless there is a valid tip pool — which can't include those not directly serving customers (manager, back-of-house, etc.) Mandatory charges similarly must go to only tipped employees if an employer communicates that they do — like calling them "tips" or "gratuities"
What PAY Do I Have a Right to?	Non-Tipped Work	Non-tipped work must be paid at full minimum wage unless the work both: • directly supports tipped work — like table setup, but not bathroom cleaning • takes less time than 20% of work week and 30 minutes daily.
details in:	Overtime Pay ("Time and a half")	1½ times the full regular pay rate: required after 40 hours a week or 12 a day, ✓ the tip credit can only be subtracted after the 1½ OT rate is calculated. ✓ including for those with non-hourly pay — salary, piece rate, etc., X but not for exempt jobs — many salaried supervisors, and certain others
INFO #1: key wage rules, & who's covered by them #3: what counts as wages & how they must be paid	Pay for all Time Worked	All time spent for the employer's benefit must be paid, including: required time at any location, even just to wait (except some sleep time) check-in/out, clothing/gear, setup/cleanup, or meeting/paperwork time travel between worksites/offices or special trips – but not usual commutes
#3C: tips #16: deductions #20: what time is paid	Deductions from Pay, or Charges to Employees	 Meals: only if optional, & for a meal's fair value or actual cost without profit Uniforms: not if required; & employers can't charge for cleaning or wear/tear Equipment or Lodging: not if for employer benefit plus other limits X Never for: poor work quality, quitting without notice, etc.
the state of the s		
	Rest Breaks (paid)	 10 minutes every 4 hours (or multiple 5-minute breaks, in some situations) duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace
What TIME OFF		 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours:
What TIME OFF Do I Have a Right to? INFO #4: breaks #6: paid leave	(paid) Meal Breaks	 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours:
Do I Have a Right to? INFO #4: breaks #6: paid leave	(paid) Meal Breaks (unpaid <i>if</i> duty-free)	 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours: duty-free & free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, & you're allowed to eat 1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23) Employers must pay at least monthly, and post notice of paydays.
Do I Have a Right to? INFO#4: breaks	(paid) Meal Breaks (unpaid <i>if</i> duty-free) Paid Leave	 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours: duty-free & free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, & you're allowed to eat 1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23)
Do I Have a Right to? INFO #4: breaks #6: paid leave WHEN Do I Have a Right	(paid) Meal Breaks (unpaid if duty-free) Paid Leave Regular Paydays Departing	 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours: duty-free & free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, & you're allowed to eat 1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23) Employers must pay at least monthly, and post notice of paydays. All earned pay: due the next payday (or immediately if terminated), including: unused vacation pay, including paid time off that can used for vacation
Do I Have a Right to? INFO #4: breaks #6: paid leave WHEN Do I Have a Right to Be Paid? Can an AGREEMENT Take Away	(paid) Meal Breaks (unpaid if duty-free) Paid Leave Regular Paydays Departing Employees' Pay	 duty-free, but the employer can require you to stay at the workplace 30 minutes, in workdays of over 5 hours: duty-free & free to go off-site – if not, it's paid time, & you're allowed to eat 1 hour per 30 worked, up to 48 hours a year, for worker or family needs for any medical care – diagnosis, care, treatment, or preventative care when a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition prevents working due to domestic abuse, sex assault, or criminal harassment bereavement, or unexpected school closure or home evacuation (as of 8/7/23) Employers must pay at least monthly, and post notice of paydays. All earned pay: due the next payday (or immediately if terminated), including: