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Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31

The Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 (7 CCR § 1103-1), effective January 1, 2015 regulates wages, hours, working conditions, and procedures for
certain employers and employees in Colorado. The Wage Order is promulgated by the Colorado Division of Labor. The Wage Order, in some instances, provides
different requirements than FLSA. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal wage and hour laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE).

INDUSTRY COVERAGE TIME WORKED EXEMPTIONS

Applies to private sector employers and The time during which an employee is subject to the control Contact the Division for more
employees in Colorado in the following 4 of an employer, including all the time when the employee is information on the following
industries: suffered or permitted to work whether or not required to do exemptions:
1. Retail and Service S0, is compensable work time. . -

. . . 1. Administrative
2. Commercial Support Service Travel time 2. Executive/Supervisor
3. Food and Beverage All travel time spent at the control and direction of the 3. Professional
4. Health and Medical employer, excluding normal home to work travel, is 4. Outside sales
Does not apply to public sector employers. compensable work time. 5. Domestic employees
Does not apply to independent contractors. Sleep time: 24+ hours tour of duty s gggg?gfbnssitters
Does not apply to a variety of other industries Up to 8 hours of sleeping time can be excluded from 8.  Property m{magers
such as construction, manufacturing, wholesale. compensable work time under certain circumstances. 9. Interstate drivers

Sleep time: Less than 24 hours tour of duty 10.  Driver helpers, loaders,

MINIMUM WAGE Periods during which the employee is permitted to sleep are mechanics

compensable work time, as long as the employee is on-duty. 11. Taxicab drivers

Minimum wage (MW) is $8.23 per hour for all 12 Elected officials
13.  Volunteers

adult employees and emancipated minors. OVERTIME 14 Interns
Minimum wage credits and exceptions 15: Prisoners
1. Up to $25 per week for lodging furnished In general, non-exempt employees covered by the Wage

Order must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of
by the employer may count toward MW. pay for any work in excess of: ENFORCEMENT
2. Reasonable cost of meals provided to the 1

40 hours per workweek.
employee may count toward MW. P e The Division has jurisdiction over

3. Unemancipated minors under 18 may be 2. 12 hours per workday. - all questions of fact regarding the
paid $7.00 per hour. 3. 12 co_nsecutlve hours without regard to the start and Wage Order.
by the Director may be paid $7.00 per hour. Exemptions from overtime complaint with the Division

5. Deductions from wages must be in 1. Salespersons, parts-persons, and mechanics employed regarding alleged violations of the
accordance with the Wage Act. by automobile, truck, or farm implement dealers. Wage Order.

2. Certain commissioned salespersons in retail and e Complaints must be filed within 2
TIPPED EMPLOYEES service. years of the alleged violation,

1. Anemployee engaged in an occupation 3. Certain ski industry employees. except that all actions brought for a
where he or she customarily and regularly 4. Certain medical transportation employees. willful violation shall be
receives more than $30 per month in tips is commenced within three (3) years
defined as a tipped employee. after the cause of action.

MEAL PERIODS

2. Employers must pay a wage of at least
$5.21 per hour. If tips combined with 1. Employees are entitled to an uninterrupted and duty- REPRISALS
wages do not equal minimum wage, the free 30-minute unpaid meal period when their work
employer must make up the difference in shift exceeds 5 consecutive hours. E”LP'OXAEFS shall not trreateg, coerce,f
cash wages. 2. The employee must be completely relieved of all duties or discharge any émployee because o

o . . . : participation in any investigation or

3. Employer-required sharing of tips with for the meal period. hearing related to the Minimum Wage
employees who are not customarily tipped 3. If the above conditions are not met, then the employee Act (C.R.S. 8-6-101 et seq.)
nullifies tip credits toward minimum wage. must be allowed to consume a meal on-duty, and be

4. Deduc_tion of credit card prqc_essi_ng fees_ compensated for the entire on-duty meal period. DUAL JURISDICTION
from tipped employees nullifies tip credits

toward minimum wage. Whenever employers are subject to
: e
e Employees are entitled to a compensated 10-minute rest law providing the greater protection
period for each 4 hours of work or major fractions or benefit for the employee will
1. The employer must pay the cost of the thereof. Wages may not be deducted for the rest period. apply.
employee uniform if the uniform requires a

L : e It is not required that the employee be permitted to leave _
specific make, logo, or material. the premises for the rest period. BOSTING REQUIREMENTS

2. Clothing that is considered ordinary street- Employers covered by the Wage
wear does not conStlt_Ute a uniform. This complimentary guide is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor. Its Order r_nUSt display a Wage Order

3. Employers may require a reasonable condensed and simplified content is for general informational purposes only, and | POSter in an area frequented by
deposit up to 50% of the cost of the does not constitute legal advice. For more information contact the Division, an employees during the workday. Visit
uniform; must be refunded to the employee attorney, or an HR professional. www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor to
upon return. obtain a free poster.
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