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The Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 33 (7 CCR § 1103-1), effective January 1, 2017 regulates wages, hours, working conditions, and procedures for certain 
employers and employees in Colorado. The Wage Order is promulgated by the Division. The Wage Order, in some instances, provides different requirements than 

FLSA. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal wage and hour laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE). 

INDUSTRY COVERAGE 

Applies to private sector employers and 
employees in Colorado in the following 4 
industries: 
1. Retail and Service 
2. Commercial Support Service 
3. Food and Beverage 
4. Health and Medical 

Does not apply to public sector employers. 

Does not apply to independent contractors. 

Does not apply to a variety of other industries 
such as construction, manufacturing, wholesale. 

MINIMUM WAGE 

Minimum wage (MW) is $9.30 per hour for all 
adult employees and emancipated minors. 

Minimum wage credits and exceptions 
1. Up to $25 per week for lodging furnished 

by the employer may count toward MW. 
2. Reasonable cost of meals provided to the 

employee may count toward MW. 
3. Unemancipated minors under 18 may be 

paid $7.91 per hour. 
4. Employees with physical disability certified 

by the Director may be paid $7.91 per hour. 
5. Deductions from wages must be in 

accordance with the Wage Act. 

TIPPED EMPLOYEES 

1. An employee engaged in an occupation 
where he or she customarily and regularly 
receives more than $30 per month in tips is 

defined as a tipped employee. 
2. Employers must pay a wage of at least 

$6.28 per hour. If tips combined with 
wages do not equal minimum wage, the 
employer must make up the difference in 
cash wages. 

3. Employer-required sharing of tips with 
employees who are not customarily tipped 
nullifies tip credits toward minimum wage. 

4. Deduction of credit card processing fees 

from tipped employees nullifies tip credits 

toward minimum wage. 

• Employees are entitled to a compensated 10

  

   

UNIFORMS 

1. The employer must pay the cost of the 
employee uniform if the uniform requires a 
specific make, logo, or material. 

2. Clothing that is considered ordinary street- 

wear does not constitute a uniform. 
3. Employers may require a reasonable 

deposit up to 50% of the cost of the 
uniform that must be refunded to the 
employee upon return. 

  

TIME WORKED 

The time during which an employee is subject to the control 

of an employer, including all the time when the employee is 

suffered or permitted to work whether or not required to do 
so, is compensable work time. 

Travel time 
All travel time spent at the control and direction of the 
employer, excluding normal home to work travel, is 

compensable work time. 

Sleep time: 24+ hours tour of duty 
Up to 8 hours of sleeping time can be excluded from 
compensable work time under certain circumstances. 

Sleep time: Less than 24 hours tour of duty 
Periods during which the employee is permitted to sleep are 
compensable work time, as long as the employee is on-duty. 

OVERTIME 

In general, non-exempt employees covered by the Wage 
Order must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of 
pay for any work in excess of: 
1. 40 hours per workweek; 
2. 12 hours per workday; or 

3. 12 consecutive hours without regard to the start and 
end time of the workday. 

Exemptions from overtime 
1. Salespersons, parts-persons, and mechanics employed 

by automobile, truck, or farm implement dealers. 
2. Certain commissioned salespersons in retail and 

service. 
3. Certain ski industry employees. 

4. Certain medical transportation employees. 

MEAL PERIODS 

1. Employees are entitled to an uninterrupted and duty-

free 30-minute unpaid meal period when their work 
shift exceeds 5 consecutive hours. 

2. The employee must be completely relieved of all duties 

for the meal period. 
3. If the above conditions are not met, then the employee 

must be allowed to consume a meal on-duty, and be 
compensated for the entire on-duty meal period. 

REST PERIODS 

-minute rest 

period for each 4 hours of work or major fractions 

thereof. Wages may not be deducted for the rest period. 

• It is not required that the employee be permitted to leave 
the premises for the rest period. 

EXEMPTIONS 

Contact the Division for more 
information on the following 

exemptions: 

1. Administrative 
2. Executive/Supervisor 
3. Professional 
4. Outside sales 
5. Domestic employees 
6. Companions 
7. Casual babysitters 
8. Property managers 
9. Interstate drivers 
10. Driver helpers, loaders, 

mechanics 
11. Taxicab drivers 
12. Elected officials 
13. Volunteers 
14. Interns 
15. Prisoners 

ENFORCEMENT 

• The Division has jurisdiction over 

all questions of fact regarding the 
Wage Order. 

• Any person may file a written 
complaint with the Division 
regarding alleged violations of the 
Wage Order. 

• Complaints must be filed within 2 
years of the alleged violation, 
except that all actions brought for a 
willful violation shall be 
commenced within three (3) years 

after the cause of action. 

REPRISALS 

Employers shall not threaten, coerce, 
or discharge any employee because of 
participation in any investigation or 

hearing related to the Minimum Wage 
Act (C.R.S. § 8-6-101 et seq.) 

DUAL JURISDICTION 

Whenever employers are subject to 
both federal and Colorado law, the 
law providing the greater protection 
or benefit for the employee will 

apply. 

POSTING REQUIREMENTS 

Employers covered by the Wage 
Order must display a Wage Order 

poster in an area frequented by 
employees during the workday. Visit 
www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor to 
obtain a free poster. 

This complimentary guide is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor 
Standards and Statistics. Its condensed and simplified content is for general 
informational purposes only, and does not constitute legal advice. For more 

information contact the Division, an attorney, or an HR professional. 
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