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Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 34 Fact Sheet

The Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 34 (7 CCR § 1103-1), effective January 1, 2018 regulates wages, hours, working conditions, and procedures for
certain employers and employees in Colorado. The Wage Order is promulgated by the Division. The Wage Order, in some instances, provides different requirements
than FLSA. Contact the U.S. DOL for information on FLSA and federal wage and hour laws (www.dol.gov or 1-866-4USWAGE).

TIME WORKED EXEMPTIONS

INDUSTRY COVERAGE

Applies to private sector employers and
employees in Colorado in the following 4

The time during which an employee is subject to the control
of an employer, including all the time when the employee is

Contact the Division for more
information on the following

industries: suffered or permitted to work whether or not required to do exemptions:
1. Retail and Service so, is compensable work time. — -
. . . Administrative
2. Commercial Support Service Travel time Executive/Supervisor
3. Food and Beverage All travel time spent at the control and direction of the Professional

4. Health and Medical
Does not apply to public sector employers.

Outside sales
Domestic employees
Companions

Casual babysitters
Property managers
Interstate drivers

0.  Driver helpers, loaders,

employer, excluding normal home to work travel, is
compensable work time.

Does not apply to independent contractors. Sleep time: 24+ hours tour of duty

Up to 8 hours of sleeping time can be excluded from
compensable work time under certain circumstances.

Does not apply to a variety of other industries
such as construction, manufacturing, wholesale.

SO PN U R LN~

Sleep time: Less than 24 hours tour of duty

m Periods during which the employee is permitted to sleep are mechanics
compensable work time, as long as the employee is on-duty. 1. Taxicab drivers
Elected officials

Minimum wage (MW) is $10.20 per hour for 12.

. . 13.  Volunteers
all adult employees and emancipated minors.

acult employees ar pated OVERTIME 14. Interns
Minimum wage credits and exceptions 15.

Prisoners

ENFORCEMENT

In general, non-exempt employees covered by the Wage
Order must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of
pay for any work in excess of:

1. 40 hours per workweek;
2. 12 hours per workday; or

3. Unemancipated minors under 18 may be
12 consecutive hours without regard to the start and

paid $8.67 per hour. 3. _
4. Employees with physical disability certified end time of the workday. o

by the Director may be paid $8.67 per hour.

1. Up to $25 per week for lodging furnished
by the employer may count toward MW.

2. Reasonable cost of meals provided to the

employee may count toward MW. e The Division has jurisdiction over

all questions of fact regarding the
Wage Order.

Any person may file a written
complaint with the Division
regarding alleged violations of the
Wage Order.

Complaints must be filed within 2

Exemptions from overtime
5. Deductions from wages must be in 1.
accordance with the Wage Act.

2.
TIPPED EMPLOYEES

Salespersons, parts-persons, and mechanics employed
by automobile, truck, or farm implement dealers.

Certain commissioned salespersons in retail and .

service. years of the alleged violation,
1. Anemployee engaged in an occupation 3. Certain ski industry employees. except that all actions brought for a
where he or she customarily and regularly 4. Certain medical transportation employees. willful violation shall be

commenced within three (3) years

receives more than $30 per month in tips is :
after the cause of action.

defined as a tipped employee.

2. Employers must pay a wage of at least MEAL PERIODS

$7.18 per hour. If tips combined with 1. Employees are entitled to an uninterrupted and duty-
wages do not equal minimum wage, the free 30-minute unpaid meal period when their work
employer must make up the difference in shift exceeds 5 consecutive hours.

cash wages. 2. The employee must be completely relieved of all duties
for the meal period.

If the above conditions are not met, then the employee
must be allowed to consume a meal on-duty, and be
compensated for the entire on-duty meal period.

REST PERIODS

e Employees are entitled to a compensated 10-minute rest
period for each 4 hours of work or major fractions
thereof. Wages may not be deducted for the rest period.

REPRISALS

Employers shall not threaten, coerce,
or discharge any employee because of
participation in any investigation or
hearing related to the Minimum Wage
Act (C.R.S. § 8-6-101 et seq.)

3. Employer-required sharing of tips with
employees who are not customarily tipped 3.
nullifies tip credits toward minimum wage.

4. Deduction of credit card processing fees
from tipped employees nullifies tip credits
toward minimum wage.

UNIFORMS

1. The employer must pay the cost of the
employee uniform if the uniform requires a
specific make, logo, or material.

DUAL JURISDICTION

Whenever employers are subject to
both federal and Colorado law, the
law providing the greater protection
or benefit for the employee will
apply.

POSTING REQUIREMENTS

Employers covered by the Wage
Order must display a Wage Order
poster in an area frequented by
employees during the workday. Visit
www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor to
obtain a free poster.

e [t is not required that the employee be permitted to leave
the premises for the rest period.

2. Clothing that is considered ordinary street-
wear does not constitute a uniform.

This complimentary guide is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor
Standards and Statistics. Its condensed and simplified content is for general
informational purposes only, and does not constitute legal advice. For more

information contact the Division, an attorney, or an HR professional.

3. Employers may require a reasonable
deposit up to 50% of the cost of the
uniform that must be refunded to the
employee upon return.
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