

Interpretive Notice & Formal Opinion ("INFO") #19:

Local Minimum Wages

<u>Overview</u>

Any local government ("**LG**") in Colorado may adopt a local minimum wage ("**LMW**") for individuals performing work within its jurisdiction under Colorado <u>H.B. 19-1210</u>, C.R.S. 29-1-1401(1). This INFO explains how an LMW works: where and how it can be adopted and implemented, whom it can cover, and what amounts it can be.

WHERE Can a Local Minimum Wage Be Adopted? (C.R.S. 29-1-1401(2))

> An LMW can be adopted by an LG that is any one of the following:

- **City** (including a **home rule** or **territorial charter** city); or
- **County**¹ (including a **home rule** county); or

- **Combined** city and county; or
- Town.

WHAT Can an LMW Be? (C.R.S. 8-6-101(3)(a)(I), (7))

- Amount. LMWs may exceed other applicable minimum wages, federal (as of this INFO, \$7.25) or Colorado (annually adjusted for inflation; \$14.81 in 2025, and see <u>INFO #1</u> for past years).
- Annual increases can't be more than 15% of the prior year's minimum wage. If an LG had no LMW the prior year, then the 15% is from the prior year's applicable *Colorado* minimum wage.²

Example 1: In 2024, Gotham City, Colorado, enacts an LMW effective as soon, and rising as high, as possible. Its highest possible LMW is \$16.58 in 2025 (15% above the 2024 Colorado minimum wage of \$14.42), and \$19.06 in 2026 (15% above its 2025 LMW), and \$21.91 in 2027.

• Inflation adjustment. The state minimum wage adjusts by the <u>Consumer Price Index ("CPI") from the</u> <u>federal Bureau of Labor Statistics</u> for the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood region, except deflation can't yield a decrease. To finalize the adjustment in time for advance notice of the new minimum wage each January 1st, Colorado applies the CPI from July 1 through June 30. The most recent annual CPI increases were 1.9% (through mid-2021, for the 2022 minimum), 8.6% (mid-2022, for the 2023 minimum), and 5.6% (mid-2023, for the 2024 minimum).³ But an LG is free to choose whether and how to adjust its LMW.

Example 2: To limit employer and employee uncertainty, Gotham City requires adjustment by the CPI for the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood region, but with a minimum of 2% and maximum of 6%. For 2022 to 2024, the adjustments would've been 2.0% for 2022 (up from the 1.9% CPI), 6.0% for 2023 (down from the 8.6% CPI), and 5.6% for 2024 (unadjusted because it is within the 2.0%-6.0% range Gotham City chose). That is permissible, given LG discretion on annual adjusting.

- Overtime. Any minimum wage becomes 50% higher for hours beyond 40 per week, or 12 per day, under state law overtime requirements, except for employers or employees who are exempt from overtime rules.⁴
- Tip Offset or Credit. An LMW must allow a tip offset often called a tip credit "equal to" what the Colorado Constitution requires for the statewide minimum wage, which is \$3.02 per hour, but:
 - only for an **employer** that "prepares and offers for sale **food or beverages for consumption**"; and
 - at such employers, only for "employees who regularly receive tips;" and
 - only in situations where state law allows a tip credit.⁵

¹ A county LMW covers only "unincorporated" areas: it excludes a municipality (city, town, etc.) that is "incorporated," meaning a municipality with its own government, unless the county reaches an intergovernmental agreement, with one or more municipalities within it, to apply the LMW in those municipalities as well. (C.R.S. 8-6-101(3)(c)(I).)

² State law allows the greater of a 15% or \$1.75 increase — but 15% is always higher, making that the relevant limit.

³ For years before 2021, minimum wages rose by not CPI, but larger fixed increases yielding 8.1%-11.9% increases.

⁴ See <u>INFO #1</u> (overtime and other rules in the Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards ("COMPS") Order).

⁵ See the <u>INFO #3</u> series (on different types of wages, with content on how and when tip credits apply).

INFOs are not binding law, but are the officially approved Division opinions and notices on how it applies and interprets various statutes and rules. The Division continues to update and post new INFOs; email <u>cdle labor standards@state.co.us</u> with any suggestions. To be sure to reference up-to-date INFOs, rules, or other material, visit <u>ColoradoLaborLaw.gov</u>. Last updated Nov. 18, 2024

Example 3: Gotham Pizza pays servers \$16.98 per hour in direct wages, \$3.02 below Gotham City's \$20.00 LMW. That is permissible *unless* the situation fails any state law tip offset requirement, such as: (a) servers receiving insufficient tips to raise total pay to the full LMW, or (b) part of servers' tips being diverted (*e.g.*, in required tip sharing or pooling) to non-tipped employees, or to the employer itself.

Example 4: Gotham City adopts a \$4.00 tip offset to its \$20.00 LMW, allowing \$16.00 in direct wages for tipped employees. That is *not* permissible: while \$16.00 direct wages exceed the state minimum wage, state law requires that LGs "*shall* provide a tip offset ... *equal to* the tip offset ... [in] the state constitution": \$3.02.

WHO Is Subject to an LMW? (C.R.S. 8-6-101(3)(a), 29-1-1401(1))

- Employees covered: An LMW "shall" cover "all adult employees and emancipated minors, whether employed on an hourly, piecework, commission, time, task, or other basis" — as long as they work (or are expected to work) at least four hours in a week in the jurisdiction.
- Time covered: LMWs cover time "while physically within" an LG's jurisdiction, but not time in jurisdictions "solely for ... traveling through ... from a point of origin ... [and] to a destination outside" the jurisdiction, without work-related stops in it (refueling, meals, or personal errands don't count as such stops).
- Unemancipated minors are covered by the state minimum wage, with permission for a 15% reduction, and hours limits. LGs can choose what if any rate applies to unemancipated minors. The 15% reduction for minors doesn't apply in any jurisdiction with an LMW (with one exception⁶).

HOW Is an LMW Adopted, Enforced, and Reported?

- > Adoption (C.R.S. 8-6-101(3), (6), (10)):
 - Before enactment, an LG **must consult** surrounding LGs and stakeholders as state law requires.⁷
 - An LG then can adopt an LMW through its **governing body**, or by **initiative** or **referendum**.
 - New LMWs must take effect January 1st, the day of each year's state minimum wage adjustment.
 - Once 10% of LGs enact an LMW, others require Colorado General Assembly authorization.⁸
- Enforcement (C.R.S. 8-6-101(3)(b)):
 - An LG may enforce its LMW (but does not need to, as noted below) in various ways, such as:
 - > writing into the LMW a **private right to sue** to enforce the minimum wage;
 - > writing into the LMW a list of, or permitted categories of, remedies for violations;⁹ or
 - > authorizing LG officials to **investigate and issue orders** to remedy violations.
 - An LG is *not required to enforce* its LMW. It can just set an LMW, without other provisions that like enforcement or remedies are already covered by state law.
 - Enforcement: Colorado allows "state law complaints by employees who claim entitlement to ... local minimum ... wages" because state law covers failure to pay any amount required by any source. For example, if an agreement, state law, or local law requires a \$15 rate, then paying less violates state wage payment law, so a state law wage complaint can be filed, in court or this Division.¹⁰
 - ► **Remedies**: The <u>Colorado Wage Act</u>, Article 4 of C.R.S. Title 8, details remedies for wage violations. For more details on how wage claims are fined, decided, and enforced, see the <u>INFO #2</u> series.

⁶ Denver allows the 15% reduction for only unemancipated minors in "city-certified youth employment programs."

⁷ Specifically: chambers of commerce; businesses — small, large, and with tipped workers; workers; unions; and community groups. By way of example: the Division consults stakeholders by inviting all known key stakeholders, and selected individual businesses and workers, to a public meeting (which may be combined with another regularly scheduled public meeting), leaving enough time for comments or questions from all interested in participating.

⁸ In applying the 10% requirement: (1) An LG enacting an LMW *before* 10% of LGs do so *can* amend it without this authorization. (2) The 10% limit counts it as only *one* LMW if: (a) a county *and* any other LG(s) within it enact LMWs ("only the county's ... counts toward" the 10%)); or (b) LGs enter an intergovernmental agreement on "enforcement or administration of local minimum wage policies," such as to adopt and identically adjust joint LMWs.

⁹ Wage law remedies may include, but are not limited to: unpaid wage awards; liquidated damages (a percentage, or multiple, of the unpaid wages); fines and penalties; interest; and costs and attorney fees for prevailing employees.

¹⁰ <u>Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards ("COMPS") Order</u>, 7 CCR 1103-1 (such complaints allowed because "the '**unpaid wages' recoverable in a state-law claim include** '[**a**]**II amounts for labor or service** performed' that is 'earned, vested, and determinable") (quoting the Colorado Wage Act, C.R.S. 8-4-101(14)).

- Reporting by the Division (C.R.S. 8-6-101(8)). By each July 1st, if any LG adopted an LMW in the past year, the Division will update Colorado's Local Minimum Wage Report ("Report"), with two types of data:
 - (1) **"The location, nature, and scope of enacted local minimum wage laws**": below, each local ordinance is linked from the name of the locality.¹¹

Year	Colorado if no LMW applies					City of Boulder as of 1/1/2025	Boulder County (unincorporated area ¹²) since 1/1/2024	
2025	\$14.81 (\$11.79 w/ tip credit) ¹³	\$18.81 (\$15.79 w/ tip credit)	\$16.52 (\$13.50 w/ tip credit) ¹⁴	\$15.57 (\$12.55 w/ tip credit) ¹⁵	\$16.57 (\$13.55 w/ tip credit) ¹⁶			
2024	\$14.42 (\$11.40)	\$18.29 (\$15.27)	\$15.02 (\$12.00)		\$15.69 (\$12.67)			
2023	\$13.65 (\$10.63)	\$17.29 (\$14.27)						
2022	\$12.56 (\$9.54)	\$15.87 (\$12.85)		n/a	n/a			
2021	\$12.32 (\$9.30)	\$14.77 (\$11.75)	n/a					
2020	\$12.00 (\$8.98)	\$12.85 (\$9.83)	1					
2019	\$11.10 (\$8.08)	n/a	1					

- (2) "Economic data, including jobs, earnings, and sales tax revenue" in jurisdictions enacting an LMW and "neighboring jurisdictions, relevant regions, and the state," as feasible. Per the <u>2023 Report</u>, below are data from 2019 (before Denver's LMW took effect January 1, 2020) to 2022 on (A) wages, (B) unemployment rates, and (C) sales tax revenues — in Denver and other localities.¹⁷
 - (A) <u>Wages</u>: "Each of the first three years since its local minimum wage took effect (2020-2022), Denver maintained ... stronger wage growth than Colorado and comparator jurisdictions Denver wages rose, and also rose more than those of all Comparator Jurisdictions and the state," starting in the first quarter of 2020, when, for example, Denver wages "increased compared to the state, from \$302.00 higher than the state average to \$339.00 higher, a 12.3% increase."

Wages (Weekly) in:	<u>2019</u> Wages:	<u>2020</u> Wages:	Denver compared:	<u>2021</u> Wages:	Denver compared:	<u>2022</u> Wages:	Denver compared:
Denver:	\$1425 Pre-Denver LMW	\$1574	+10.5% from 2019	\$1693	+7.6% above 2020	\$1783	+5.3% above 2021
Neighboring Localities:	\$1210 Denver: \$215 higher	\$1301	Denver rose \$58 (now \$273 higher)	\$1366	Denver rose \$54 (now \$327 higher)	\$1438	Denver rose \$18 (now \$345 higher)
Colorado Overall:	\$1189 Denver: \$236 higher	\$1281	Denver rose \$57 (now \$293 higher)	\$1356	Denver rose \$44 (now \$337 higher)	\$1430	Denver rose \$16 (now \$353 higher)

¹¹ For each LMW, the minimum wage *with the tip credit* follows the full LMW.

¹² See note 1. This means the **Boulder County LMW** does **not** apply to its **10 incorporated municipalities**:

- four cities — Boulder (which has its own minimum wage, noted above), Lafayette, Longmont, and Louisville; and

- six towns — Erie, Jamestown, Lyons, Nederland, Superior, and Ward.

The Boulder County LMW **does** apply to its **unincorporated municipalities** — those without their own government, which includes any areas other than the 10 listed above. Examples: Niwot; Eldorado Springs; Eldora; Allenspark; Gold Hill; Hygiene; Coal Creek Canyon; and Gunbarrel (other than any portions of Gunbarrel within the City of Boulder).

¹³ Each upcoming year's new Colorado minimum wage is calculated in late summer, then incorporated into Colorado law through the Division's annual fall rulemaking. See the Division's <u>Labor Rules</u> page.

¹⁴ The City of Edgewater will rise annually by 10% through 2028, then by inflation or (if greater) to match the Denver LMW.

¹⁵ The City of Boulder will rise 8% annually in 2025, 2026, and 2027, then by inflation each year afterwards.

¹⁶ Boulder County will rise to: \$16.57 (2025); \$17.99 (2026); \$19.53 (2027); \$21.21 (2028); \$23.03 (2029); \$25.00 (2030).

¹⁷ Available "neighboring" data: for earnings, neighboring counties; for unemployment and sales tax revenue, neighboring cities. For methodology details, fuller discussion, and all 2019-2022 data, see the <u>2023 Report</u>.

(B) <u>Unemployment</u>: In January-February 2020, before COVID-19 but after Denver's minimum wage took effect, Denver's "unemployment rate remained lower than ... Comparator Jurisdictions, ... with only Rural Counties ... lower," and Denver's "rise in unemployment ... was smaller than the statewide rise." Denver had "worse unemployment ... not after adopting a local minimum wage, but months later after ... greater impact from COVID-19" than Colorado overall, given the "strong correlation between unemployment and higher COVID-19." In 2021-2022, Denver unemployment dropped as its LMW rose while COVID-19 declined (e.g., the shutdowns that increased unemployment were mainly in 2020), including relative to other localities and Colorado overall.

Unemployment Rates in:	2019 Unemp Rates:	<u>2020</u> Unemp. Rates:	Denver compared:	<mark>2021</mark> Unemp. Rates:	Denver compared:	<u>2022</u> Unemp. Rates:	Denver compared:
Denver	2.58% Pre-Denver LMW	7.64%	+5.06% from 2019	5.90%	-1.74% from 2020	3.08%	-2.82% from 2021
Neighboring Localities	2.70% Denver: 0.12% lower	7.46%	Denver rose 0.30% (now 0.18% higher)	5.86%	Denver dropped 0.14% (now 0.04% higher)	3.13%	Denver dropped 0.09% (now 0.05% lower)
Colorado Overall	2.67% Denver: 0.09% lower	6.79%	Denver rose 0.94% (now 0.85% higher)	5.45%	Denver dropped 0.40% (now 0.45% higher)	3.04%	Denver dropped 0.41% (now 0.04% higher)

(C) <u>Sales Taxes</u>: In 2020, "Denver's [per capita state] sales tax revenues did not suffer relative to other parts of the state ... after it adopted its minimum wage," but instead dropped "only after the impact of COVID-19.... Most Comparator Jurisdictions experienced a larger sales tax decrease than Denver in January-February 2020." Then, in 2021-2022, "as Denver's local minimum wage grew increasingly higher ... its sales tax revenues continued growing more than Colorado's and ... all Comparator Jurisdictions'."

State Sales Tax Revenue per capita in:	<mark>2019</mark> Sales Tax:	<u>2020</u> Sales Tax:	Denver Compared:	<mark>2021</mark> Sales Tax:	Denver Compared:	<u>2022</u> Sales Tax:	Denver Compared:
Denver	\$60.82 Pre-Denver LMW	\$49.88	-18.0% from 2019	\$61.90	+ 24.1% from 2020	\$72.52	+ 17.2% from 2021
Neighboring Localities	\$47.78 Denver: \$13.04 higher	\$48.95	Denver dropped \$12.11 (now \$0.93 higher)	\$55.45	Denver rose \$5.52 (now \$6.45 higher)	\$61.11	Denver rose \$4.96 (now \$11.41 higher)
Colorado Overall	\$46.94 Denver: \$13.88 higher	\$46.14	Denver dropped \$10.14 (now \$3.74 higher)	\$54.51	Denver rose \$3.65 (now \$7.39 higher)	\$60.72	Denver rose \$4.41 (now \$11.80 higher)

- Outreach: The Division will update its website and published guidance, at least annually with each year's minimum wages (state and local), and whenever LGs enact or materially amend LMWs.
- > **Localities communicating upcoming LMWs**. To ensure accurate, compliant reporting, LGs should:
 - consult the Division before or while drafting an LMW, to avoid inconsistencies with state or federal law, or for guidance from Division subject-matter experts; and
 - > inform the Division after an LMW is enacted or amended.

For More Information: Visit the Division website, call 303-318-8441, or email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us.