Employer Provided Paid Sick Leave
All Colorado employers are required to provide their employees with “accrued” paid sick leave (up to 48 hours per year) and public health emergency leave (up to 80 hours per public health emergency) in accordance with the Colorado Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (HFWA) More>
All regularly employed trial or grand jurors shall be paid regular wages, but not to exceed fifty dollars per day unless by mutual agreement between the employee and employer, by their employers for the first three days of juror service or any part thereof. More>
Colorado wage law does not require nor prohibit bereavement pay or bereavement leave.
Family and Medical Leave Insurance
Colorado voters approved Proposition 118 in November of 2020, paving the way for a state-run Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance (FAMLI) program. The FAMLI program will ensure all Colorado workers have access to paid leave in order to take care of themselves or their family during life circumstances that pull them away from their jobs — like growing their family or taking care of a loved one with a serious health condition. FAMLI will start providing benefits to employees beginning January 1, 2024. The FAMLI program is being implemented and enforced by the Division of Family and Medical Leave Insurance.
Domestic Abuse Leave Law
Colorado Revised Statutes 24-34-402.7 permits an employee to request or take up to three working days of leave from work in any twelve-month period, with or without pay, if the employee is the victim of domestic abuse, stalking, sexual assault, or any other crime related to domestic abuse.
- Colorado Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (C.R.S. 8-13.3-401 et seq., SB 20-205, effective July 14, 2020)
- INFO# 6A: Paid Leave Under the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (COVID-19 related leave effective July 15 - December 31, 2020)
- INFO# 6B: Paid Leave Under the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (Paid leave requirements effective January 1, 2021)
- INFO #6C: Paid Leave Under the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (How Requirements Differ from 2020 to 2021, & from Other Laws)
- Colorado Revised Statutes 8-4-101(14)(a)(III) (Vacation Pay)
- Colorado Revised Statutes 24-34-402.7 (Domestic Abuse Leave)
Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441| Contact Us