Colorado SB19-196 State-Funded Project Prevailing Wages
For Colorado state projects that do not receive federal funding and are not covered by federal prevailing wage requirements or are not awarded by the state Department of Transportation, Colorado state law requires weekly payment of prevailing wages to laborers, mechanics, and other construction workers employed on public projects pursuant to a contract of $500,000 or more with an agency of state government, and each subcontract awarded thereunder.
Davis-Bacon Act /Prevailing Wages
The federal Davis-Bacon Act, requires that each contract over $2,000 to which the United States or the District of Columbia is a party for the construction, alteration, or repair of public buildings or public works shall contain a clause setting forth the minimum wages to be paid to various classes of laborers and mechanics employed under the contract.
Under the provisions of the Act, contractors or their subcontractors are to pay workers employed directly upon the site of the work no less than the locally prevailing wages and fringe benefits paid on projects of a similar character. The Davis-Bacon Act directs the Secretary of Labor to determine local prevailing wage rates.
Davis-Bacon wage determinations issued by the U.S. Department of Labor may be viewed at sam.gov/content/wage-determinations. Questions regarding Davis-Bacon and Related Acts may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
For information regarding Davis-Bacon Wages, contact the U.S. Department of Labor at 866-487-9243.
- INFO #13: Prevailing Wage and Apprenticeship Program Requirements for Public Projects
- Public Project Prevailing Wage Complaint Form
- Queja de Salarios Prevalecientes para los Proyectos Públicos (Public Project Prevailing Wage Complaint Form) NEW
- SB19-196: Colorado Quality Apprenticeship Training Act Of 2019
- Office of the State Architect Prevailing Wage and Apprenticeship Information
- Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations
- U.S. Department of Labor Davis-Bacon Information
- Davis-Bacon Frequently Asked Questions
- Colorado Labor Market Information, Occupational Statistics for the State
Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441| Contact Us