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Colorado Social Media and the Workplace Law 
“Facebook Law” §8-2-127, C.R.S. 

An employer may not access an employee’s or applicant’s personal social media accounts. The law 
applies to Colorado employers on or after May 11, 2013. For more information, visit the Social Media 
and the Workplace website.  

Coverage: 
8-2-127(1)(c) 

Applies to public and private employers in Colorado. 

Does not apply to: 

• The Department of Corrections 
• County Corrections Departments 
• Any state or local law enforcement agency. 

Employer Actions: 
8-2-127(3) 

• Discharge, discipline, or otherwise penalize or threaten to discharge, discipline, or otherwise 
penalize an employee for an employee's refusal to disclose personal social media information, 
or refusal to add the employer to the list of the employee's contacts or to change the privacy 
settings associated with a personal social media account. 

• Fail or refuse to hire an applicant because: the applicant refuses to disclose personal social 
media information as specified in the law, or the applicant refuses to add the employer to the 
applicant's list of contacts or to change the privacy settings associated with a personal social 
media account. 

Employer Prohibitions: 
8-2-127(2)(a) 

An employer may not: 

1. Suggest, request, or require that an employee or applicant disclose, or cause an employee or 
applicant to disclose, any user name, password, or other means for accessing the employee’s or 
applicant’s personal account or service through the employee’s or applicant’s personal 
electronic communications device. 

2. Compel an employee or applicant to add anyone, including the employer or his or her agent, to 
the employee’s or applicant’s list of contacts associated with a personal social media account. 

3. Require, request, suggest, or cause an employee or applicant to change privacy settings 
associated with a personal social networking account. 

Exceptions to Prohibitions: 
8-2-127(2) & (4) 

An employer may: 

1. Access information about employees and applicants that is publicly available online. 
2. Require an employee to disclose any user name, password, or other means for accessing on 

personal accounts or services that provide access to the employer’s internal computer or 
information systems. 
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3. Conduct an investigation to ensure compliance with applicable securities or financial law or
regulatory requirements based on the receipt of information about the use of a personal
website, internet website, web-based account, or similar account by an employee for business
purposes.

4. Investigate an employee's electronic communications based on the receipt of information about
the unauthorized downloading of an employer's proprietary information or financial data to a
personal website, internet website, web-based account, or similar account by an employee.

Complaints and Penalties: 
8-2-127(5)

The Division accepts complaints from employees or applicants who have been subjected to alleged 
violations of the Colorado Social Media and the Workplace Law. The Division investigates complaints, 
conducts hearings of appeals, and may issue a fine of up to $1,000 for the first offense and a fine not 
to exceed $5,000 for each subsequent offense. Complaint forms and instructions are available at the 
Social Media and the Workplace website.  
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