We know that for many, these are uncertain and challenging times, and we are constantly working to make it easier for you to get the answers you need.
This page includes answers to many of the questions we are most frequently asked. If your question is not answered here, try using the search function at the top of this page, or visit our main page at ColoradoUI.gov and ask our Virtual Assistant. You can also call our customer service line 24 hours a day at 303-318-9000,
or 1-800-388-5515 if you are located outside the Denver metro area.
Denver Metro: 303-318-9333 / Toll-Free: 1-866-422-0402
Deaf and Hard of Hearing (TTD):
Denver Metro: 303-318-9016 / Toll Free: 1-800-894-7730
Filing a Claim
- Collecting Benefits While Working Part Time
You may be eligible to collect partial benefits if you are working fewer than 32 hours per week. However, you must continue to look for work and meet your eligibility requirements. When you work, we can pay part of your weekly benefits, but you must have earned less than the weekly benefit amount. The law states that you can earn up to 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount and still be paid your full benefit payment. After that, we must reduce your benefit payment by one dollar for each dollar you earn.
- Are you a Colorado election judge currently receiving Unemployment Insurance?
Serving as an election judge in Colorado is a paid position, so wages earned as an election judge could impact either your eligibility for unemployment insurance benefit or the amount of your benefit payment. As each individual's circumstances are different and wages for election judges are determined by counties, it is important you understand how any income earned as an election judge could impact your eligibility for unemployment benefits.
What is the law?
Recent Colorado legislation determined that the wages earned as a Colorado election judge are reportable based on a benchmark set by federal law. Therefore, according to federal Unemployment Compensation law, Colorado election judges may earn up to $1000 in a calendar year before their unemploymThe ent benefit is impacted.
What does that mean for me?
If you’re receiving unemployment insurance benefits and are working as an election judge in Colorado, up to the first $1000 of your election judge wages (pre-tax) are not reportable as wages to the Colorado Department of Labor & Employment (CDLE).
What do I need to do?
Keep track of all the income you receive while working as an election judge. Upon requesting payment via your MyUI Claimant account, DO NOT report to CDLE the first $999 that you earn in this position; ONLY report the income to CDLE after you have made $1000 or more. CDLE will then determine how it will affect your weekly benefit payment.
How do I report my wages?
To learn more about calculating wages.
Visit Working and Collecting
What resources will help me find additional employment?
Make sure you are registered with a Colorado Workforce Center. Workforce Centers provide free access to computer resources, career counseling, resume writing, interview skills building, job-search strategies, training opportunities, and potential job connections. Find a workforce center at cdle.colorado.gov/wfc.
- Do I qualify for unemployment benefits?
Generally speaking, if you are unemployed or are working fewer than 32 hours a week and earning less than the weekly amount that unemployment benefits pay, you can file a claim for unemployment benefits.
During the COVID-19 pandemic, there are additional benefits available for those who are self-employed, independent contractors, or gig workers. Please visit our Eligibility page for more information.
- How do I file a claim for unemployment benefits?
To file a claim for unemployment benefits, please visit our New Claimant page.
If you have already opened a claim and need to reopen your claim or file for additional benefits, please visit our Returning Claimants page.
For more information, please visit our Start a Claim page.
- How much does unemployment pay?
Unemployment benefits are approximately 55 percent of a person's average weekly wage over a 12-month time period. Click here to estimate your potential payments. The maximum benefit amount available is $618 per week.
- Are tips included in the calculation of my wages for unemployment benefits?
Tips are considered wages and should be included in your wages reported by your employer. When you file a claim, we will send you a notice that details your reported wages. Review the information carefully and follow the instructions if it is incorrect. Report your rate of pay including your hourly rate plus average tips. You can calculate that hourly, daily, or weekly, whichever makes the most sense based on your job.
After You've Filed
- How long will it take to receive my benefits?
It may take as little as 2 weeks but as many as 6 to completely process a claim, depending on how many employers are involved. Our goal is to get payments out within 2 weeks.
- I filed a claim. What happens now?
We will mail you a personal identification number (PIN), which you must use to access unemployment benefits and services. Use this PIN to create your MyUI Claimant account at https://myui.coworkforce.com/Registration. MyUI offers 24/7 convenient online access to your claim, fast and secure payment request, and answers to many questions about your claim.
You will also receive mail showing your income history and potential benefits in the base period of your claim. If you agree with the document, no further action is required. If you disagree with the reported earnings, please fill out the back of the form, attach proof, and return it to the address provided.
To receive benefit payments, you must request them every two weeks via your MyUI Claimant account. By default, you will receive benefit payments on a US Bank debit card, if you prefer to receive benefits via direct deposit, you can make that change online in your MyUI claimant account.
- How can I manage my existing claim?
To manage your existing claim, or to reopen your claim, please visit our Returning Claimant page.
- I have not yet received my PIN. What do I do?
Under normal circumstances, your PIN will be mailed to you the next business day after you file your claim. If you have not received a PIN within 7 to 10 business days after filing your claim — or if you’ve simply lost your existing PIN — you can now reset your PIN at your convenience. Simply visit ColoradoUI.gov and type “Reset PIN” into the Virtual Assistant at the bottom of the page to get started. After completing the process, a new PIN will be sent to you via email.
- I have exhausted my regular unemployment benefits. How can I extend my benefits?
Colorado provides up to 26 weeks of regular unemployment benefits. For those who exhaust those benefits, the Federal Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) program currently provides an additional 13 weeks of benefits. These benefits are not automatic and must be requested through your MyUI claimant account.
If you exhaust both your regular and PEUC benefits, you may be eligible for up to 13 additional weeks of state extended benefits (SEB). You do not need to take any action to access state extended benefits. We will automatically review your eligibility and notify you.
- I have lost my US Bank debit card. How can I get a replacement card?
To get a new card, please contact US Bank at 855-279-1678.
- What is Lost Wages Assistance (LWA)?
On August 8, President Trump signed an executive order authorizing FEMA to expend up to $44 billion from its Disaster Relief Fund to provide additional payments, called “lost wages assistance,” to Americans receiving unemployment benefits. While Colorado has not yet finalized the amount of its LWA payments, the program is expected to provide eligible Coloradans with an additional $300 to $400 benefit each week.
CDLE is currently in the process of reprogramming its systems to include the new benefits. No action on your part is necessary at this time. We will contact claimants directly with more information when these benefits become available in mid to late September. These payments will be retroactive to the week beginning July 26th.
- Who is eligible to receive Lost Wages Assistance (LWA) benefits?
All Coloradans who are eligible to receive least $100 in weekly unemployment benefit payments are eligible to receive the additional Lost Wages Assistance benefits. This includes claimants receiving benefits from any of the following programs:
- Regular unemployment insurance (UI)
- Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)
- Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)
- State Extended Benefits (SEB)
- Work-Share Program/Short-Time Compensation (STC)
- Regular unemployment insurance (UI)
- What is Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)?
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance, or PUA, is a federal program which provides up to 39 weeks of unemployment benefits to those who would otherwise not be eligible for regular benefits, including those who are self-employed, independent contractors, or gig workers.
In order to qualify for PUA benefits, you must not be able to receive any type of unemployment benefit from any state. For example, those who are self-employed/business owners, independent contractors, 1099 and other gig-economy workers, and sole proprietors who do not pay unemployment premiums on their own income are generally not able to receive unemployment benefits. This is also true for employees of some nonprofit religious organizations that choose not to pay unemployment premiums.
PUA benefits are calculated based on your income from your most recent federal income tax return. The minimum weekly benefit amount is $223 and the maximum weekly benefit is $618.
To file a claim for PUA benefits, visit our New Claimant page.
- What is Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)?
Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation, or PEUC is a federally-funded program which provides an additional 13 weeks of benefits for those who have exhausted their regular unemployment benefits. These benefits are not automatic. Claimants should receive a letter in the mail as their regular unemployment benefits expire with directions on how to file for the additional PEUC benefits.
- What is Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)?
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation, or FPUC, is a federal program which provided an additional $600 weekly benefit to those receiving regular state unemployment benefits or PUA benefits. The program began on March 29, 2020 and expired with the week ending on Saturday, July 25, 2020.
Work Search Requirements
- Am I required to look for work while on unemployment benefits?
Yes. While work search requirements were temporarily suspended during the COVID-19 pandemic, that suspension has been lifted. You are required to complete work-search activities that are meant to help you return to work.
While you do not have to submit proof of your work search activities, you should keep these records on file for two years in case you are selected for an audit.
Other Assistance and Resources
- I need help affording rent, food, healthcare, or other expenses. What resources are available?
For a list of available assistance programs and other resources, please visit our Assistance Programs page.