Labor Rules, Proposed & Adopted

#FFFFFF

The Division of Labor Standards and Statistics engages in periodic rulemaking on labor law and policy for the State of Colorado. This page has timelines for upcoming rulemaking, copies of current and previous rules, recordings and transcripts from previous rulemaking, and comments received.  

CCR # Name Rule Statement of Basis and Purpose (SBP) Key Prior SBP(s)
7 CCR 1103-1 COLORADO OVERTIME AND MINIMUM PAY STANDARDS ORDER (COMPS ORDER) #38

2022 (PDF)

2022 PDF 2020 (PDF), 2021 (PDF)
7 CCR 1103-4     EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY ACT RULES (CREDIT HISTORY) 2017 (PDF) 2017 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-5     SOCIAL MEDIA AND THE WORKPLACE LAW RULES 2017 (PDF) 2017 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-6     KEEP JOBS IN COLORADO ACT RULES 2017 (PDF) 2017 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-7 WAGE PROTECTION RULES 2022 (PDF) 2022 (PDF)  
7 CCR 1103-8 DIRECT INVESTIGATION RULES 2021 (PDF) 2021 (PDF)  
7 CCR 1103-9 COLORADO CHANCE TO COMPETE ACT RULES (CRIMINAL HISTORY) 2019 (PDF) 2019 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-10 COLORADO HEALTH EMERGENCY LEAVE WITH PAY (“COLORADO HELP”) RULES [Emergency rule expired 11/11/2020] 2020 (PDF) 2020 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-11 COLORADO WHISTLEBLOWER, ANTI-RETALIATION, NON-INTERFERENCE, AND NOTICE-GIVING RULES ("COLORADO WARNING RULES") 2022 (PDF) 2022 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-12 COLORADO STATE LABOR RELATIONS RULES 2022 (PDF) 2022 (PDF)  
7 CCR 1103-13 EQUAL PAY TRANSPARENCY RULES (“EPT RULES”) 2021 (PDF) 2021 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-14 2022 PUBLICATION AND YEARLY CALCULATION OF ADJUSTED LABOR COMPENSATION (2022 PAY CALC) ORDER 2022 (PDF) 2022 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1103-15 AGRICULTURAL LABOR CONDITIONS RULES (AGLABOCO) 2022 (PDF) 2022 (PDF) N/A
7 CCR 1101-1 RULES OF PROCEDURE TO THE COLORADO LABOR PEACE ACT AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
ACT
2017 (PDF)    
N/A EMERGENCY AUTHORIZATION FOR INCREASED WORK HOURS FOR LIFEGUARDS OF AGES 16-17 AT PUBLIC FACILITIES, 6/21/22-9/5/22 2022 (PDF) 2022 FAQs (PDF)  

  Secretary of State page with all rulemaking filings for all current & prior Division rules

If you would like to submit comments for our Fall 2022 Rulemaking, please click on the button below:

DLSS Rulemaking, Fall 2022: Public Comments

 

Rules  Hearing Date    

Comment Deadline    

Anticipated Effective Date     Clean Version     Redline From Prior Version     Statement of Basis & Purpose
 
             

2021: 

Comments for Fall 2021 Rulemaking

Public Hearing December 9, 2021 Public Hearing November 1, 2021

2020: 

Background information and additional resources on the COMPS Order: In a rulemaking effort that began in summer 2019, the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics in the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment replaced the annually issued Minimum Wage Order with Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards Order ("COMPS Order") #36. The COMPS Order, like the prior issued wage orders, is the source of critical Colorado wage rights and responsibilities beyond those provided by federal law: eligibility for the Colorado minimum wage, overtime pay for work past 40 hours per week and 12 hours per day, meal and rest breaks, and other employee and employer rights and responsibilities, such as what wage deductions are permissible, how hourly rates are calculated from non-hourly pay for overtime, and posting the Order's provisions to employees for ease of access. INFO # 1: Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS Order) #36 summarizes key parts and interpretations of COMPS Order #36.The Division's Statement of Basis, Purpose, Authority, and Findings offers more detail on the nature, basis for, and findings underlying all changes.

The public hearing on COMPS Order #36 was held on Monday, December 16, 2019 at 3:00 pm at the Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics, 12th Floor Conference Room, 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202.The hearing was transcribed, and a draft of the transcript is publicly available, in addition to all the comments received, and the transcript of the Division's pre-rulemaking public meeting which took place on August 28, 2019 (scroll down to find these documents).

COMPS Order #36 took effect March 16, 2020, with three narrow modifications based on developments since the original January adoption of COMPS Order #36, yielding the current version of COMPS posted above. The Statement of Basis, Purpose, Authority, and Findings accompanying the spring 2020 modifications explains the modifications considered and adopted at that time.

 


Comments for Rulemaking 2020


AMENDED MINIMUM WAGE ORDER 35 (Jan. 1 - Mar. 15, 2020)

Pursuant to Section 15, Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution, these temporary rules in effect January 1 - March 15, 2020, increase the state minimum to $12.00 per hour, effective January 1, 2020, and conformed the Colorado Minimum Wage Order #35, 7 CCR 1103-1, to statutory changes to C.R.S. Title 8.

7 CCR 1103-1 Amended Minimum Wage Order 35 7 CCR 1103-1 Amended Minimum Wage Order 35 Statement of Basis and Purpose