Senate Bill 22-210 requires all Supplemental Health-Care Staffing Agencies (SHSA) to provide a report to the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics (DLSS) as a part of a collaborative data collection effort by DLSS, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) and the Colorado Department of Health Care and Public Financing (HCPF). This report will contain information about how much money is charged to healthcare facilities quarterly and of that amount charged, how much is paid to supplemental staff provided to those healthcare facilities. There are two required reporting periods for all SHSAs annually, from October 1 and March 31, with a report due by April 30, and from April 1 to September 30 with a report due by October 31. These reports recur on these same dates each year, with the first being due on April 30, 2023.
DLSS will then transmit the collected reports to CDPHE and HCPF so that those agencies can determine whether additional regulations need to be created.
Failure to provide reports or providing incomplete information to DLSS may result in a $500.00 fine upon the first notice of non-compliance – that will be assessed 30 days after no response is received, then $10,000.00 for not curing a violation, or $20,000.00 for a violation following a $10,000.00 fine and notice of non-compliance. The Division has the authority to waive fines assessed if a good-cause reason for failure to respond can be supplied and all outstanding fines will be collected after any applicable notices of non-compliance have been sent.
NOTE: This Division does not offer any certificates or licenses and is solely responsible for gathering the data required by SB22-210. The certification process that is referenced in SB22-210 comes from C.R.S. 8-70-114, which is a statute under the authority of the Unemployment Insurance Division. Unemployment insurance law requires certification by an “employee leasing company” (C.R.S. 8-70-114), but not by a “temporary help contracting firm” (C.R.S. 8-73-105.5 (defined as “employing individuals and, for compensation from a third party, providing those individuals to perform work for the third party, under the supervision of the third party,” for “limited-term assignments”). If an SHSA was not required to file such certifications with unemployment insurance before 22-210 (such as by qualifying as a “temporary help contracting firm”), then 22-210 does not add any additional requirement of such a certification.
If you are inquiring about licensure, please contact the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
The Health-Care Staffing Agencies Correction form that was used to update contact information is no longer available. If you need to update your contact information you may do so at the time that you file your report during the reporting period from April 1 - April 30 (the link will be provided below at that time). If you are attempting to contact the Division to obtain certification, please read the "NOTE" above regarding certification.
Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441| email@example.com