All CDLE systems and applications may be experiencing issues and delays due to global internet disruption. Our technical teams are working on resolutions now.
We appreciate your patience, as we work to return systems to normal.

0

Level I Accreditation

#FFFFFF

Level 1 Accreditation introduces the administrative, legal, and medical aspects of the Colorado workers' compensation system. Per statute, MDs, DOs, chiropractors, dentists, podiatrists, PAs, and NPs with prescriptive authority can become Level 1 accredited. This course is recommended for any healthcare provider working in the workers’ compensation system. Those that can not be accredited will be listed as “Division Trained."

 

Important course information:

  • This online course is offered at three different periods throughout the year.
  • Registrants can complete the course at their own pace over the 12 weeks.
  • Online course modules will not be available until the term start date.
  • No course term changes/substitutions are permitted.

 

Important test information:

  • Testing for accreditation is completed in an online, proctored setting.
  • Registrants are required to pass the multiple choice, closed note exam to achieve accreditation.
  • Registrants have two opportunities to pass the exam.

 

Course Term

Course Duration

Registration Deadline Date

Fall 2024October 1 - December 20, 2024September 30, 2024
Spring 2025February 3 - April 30, 2025January 31, 2025
Summer 2025June 2 - August 29, 2025May 30, 2025
Fall 2025October 1 - December 19, 2025September 30, 2025

 

As of January 1, 2018, Level I Accreditation is required prior to Level II Accreditation (Rule 13-2).

Register for Level I Accreditation

Course Objectives

  • Apply the Colorado Medical Treatment Guidelines meaningfully in clinical practice.
  • Synthesize principles of chronology to appropriately proceed through a workers' compensation case.
  • Justify a determination of medical causality in a workers' compensation case.
  • Implement Colorado DOWC rules and procedures into practice.
  • Evaluate medical and ethical issues pertaining to workers' compensation cases.
  • Demonstrate proper use of DOWC forms.
  • Evaluate a patient's functional status and defend a determination of Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI).

Continuing Education

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the University of Colorado School of Medicine and the Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation. The University of Colorado School of Medicine is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The University of Colorado School of Medicine designates this internet enduring material for a maximum of 7.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. For more information, please refer to the CME Activity Information for Level I Accreditation. 

Course Fees

Online course option (incl. exam fee) – per term:$200.00
#FFFFFF

Contact Us

Division of Workers' Compensation
Provider Education
633 17th Street, Suite 400
Denver, CO 80202
303-318-8754
303-318-8653 (Fax)
cdle_dowc_provider_education@state.co.us