Level II Accreditation provides physicians with a further understanding of the administrative, legal, and medical aspects of workers' compensation. Specifically, this course educates physicians in performing impairment ratings using The American Medical Association Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, 3rd Edition Revised.
Per statute, Level II Accreditation is limited to MDs and DOs only. Level II Accreditation can be either limited or full. Limited Level II Accreditation includes the ability to perform impairment ratings for specific areas of the body. Full Level II Accreditation allows physicians to perform impairment ratings for all body parts and systems and is required for the following specialties: anesthesiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, physical medicine &, rehabilitation, internal medicine, occupational medicine, osteopathic manipulative medicine, pain management, public health &, general preventive medicine, and sports medicine. All other specialists may obtain either full or limited accreditation.
As of January 1, 2018, Level I Accreditation is required prior to Level II Accreditation (Rule 13-2). A physician’s Level I Accreditation must be current at the time of registration for the Level II course as well as on the date of testing.
The self-paced online course is available year-round. Testing for accreditation is completed in an online proctored setting at no additional cost. To maintain accreditation, providers must re-accredit every three years. Providers maintaining Level II Accreditation need not maintain their Level I Accreditation.
- Apply the Colorado Medical Treatment Guidelines meaningfully in clinical practice.
- Synthesize principles of chronology to appropriately proceed through and complete a workers' compensation case.
- Create a comprehensive narrative report for an impairment rating.
- Construct an impairment rating through application of the AMA Guides to Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Third Edition, Revised.
- Distinguish between the principles of normalization and apportionment.
- Construct an impairment rating that requires apportionment.
Course participants who are licensed under the Medical Practice Act may earn Continuing Medical Education units through the Division of Workers' Compensation/University of Colorado-Denver School of Medicine. The University of Colorado School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians. The University of Colorado School of Medicine designates this internet enduring material for a maximum of 14.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.
Participants should expect to receive CME credits within 6-8 weeks of completing the course. For more information, please click here.
|Online course option – available year-round:||$400.00|
*Effective May 1, 2021, upon written request, up to 50% of your registration fee may be refundable within six weeks following registration and payment if unable to complete the course. All course requirements need to be completed within six months from the original date of registration/payment. Otherwise, a new registration with payment of applicable course fees must be submitted for re-registration.
Division of Workers' Compensation
633 17th Street, Suite 400
Denver, CO 80202