About the Just Transition Advisory Committee


The Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) is currently conducting a sunset review of the Just Transition Advisory Committee as described in section 2-3-1203 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. Analysis is performed to determine if the advisory council is necessary and should be continued or repealed. To provide input on this review, please visit the COPPRRR website.

The Just Transition Advisory Committee (JTAC) includes representatives of coal communities, labor unions, and utilities as well as issue experts and members of the Colorado General Assembly and the Governor’s Cabinet.

The JTAC was responsible for creating, in partnership with local communities, the Draft Colorado Transition Plan, which informed today’s Colorado Just Transition Action Plan. The committee will continue to play a useful role by supporting the Office of Just Transition as it reports on its progress and updates its plan on an annual basis.

Below is a list of committee members. For a review of the Office of Just Transition's goals, visit our About page.


Next Meeting Schedule

June 18, 2024 | 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. | Virtual

September 17, 2024 | 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. | Virtual

December 17, 2024 | 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. | Virtual

For the link to attend, email cdle_ojt@state.co.us


Advisory Committee Membership

NameTitleOrganization AffiliationSeat Represented
Dennis Dougherty, Chair (CY24-25)Executive DirectorAFL-CIOCoal Transition Workers
Joe BarelaExecutive DirectorColorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE)Ex-Officio
Maria De Cambra/ Dave Bowman (alternate)Executive Director/Deputy Director, DLGDepartment of Local Affairs (DOLA)Ex-Officio
Ron GearyAssistant Business ManagerIBEW 111Coal Transition Workers
Laura GettsSenior Electrification AnalystTri-StateDisproportionately Impacted Communities
Ernest House Senior Policy DirectorKeystone Policy CenterDisproportionately Impacted Communities
Eve Lieberman/Kat Papenbrock (alternate)Executive Director/Deputy Dir, Rural OpportunityColorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT)Ex-Officio
Sheila LiederState RepresentativeColorado LegislatureCO House
Chris MarkusonWestern States DirectorBlueGreen AllianceProfessional ED or Workforce
Tim RedmondCounty Commissioner Routt CountyCoal Transition Community
Dylan RobertsState SenatorColorado LegislatureCO Senate
Amy RobertsonSenior Manager, State Government Relations and External AffairsTri-StateUtility Company
Jessica KostelnikSenior Policy AdvisorGovernor's OfficeEx-Officio
Carl SmithState Legislative DirectorSMART Transportation DivisionCoal Transition Workers
Vacant Xcel EnergyUtility Company
Aimee TookerBoard PresidentWest End Economic Development CorporationProfessional ED or Workforce
Will Toor/Christine Berg (alternate)Executive Director/Sr. Local Gov't Policy AnalystColorado Energy Office (CEO)Ex-Officio
Melody VillardCounty CommissionerMoffat CountyCoal Transition Community
Gordon WesthoffCounty Commissioner Morgan CountyCoal Transition Community